Shared safety officer position tabled by County Legislature

FONDA – Montgomery County legislators have recently tabled a resolution that would create a shared safety officer.

During Tuesday nights full legislature meeting legislative members Ryan Weitz and Joe Isabell both pulled their sponsorship of the resolution that would create a safety officer to be shared between the county and the city of Amsterdam.

The resolution called for paying the safety officer a base salary of $41,165, with the municipalities both paying half the salary and benefits.

The officer would spend half of his or her time with the county and the other half with city government.

Legislative Chairman Tom Quackenbush said County Executive Matt Ossenfort is looking to go in a different direction with the position. Quackenbush said insurance issues also needed to be worked out before the position could be approved.

“[Ossenfort] asked that this not come forward until we can talk about it a little more,” he said.

Qackenbush said the resolution would likely come back to the legislature in a different fashion at a later time.

Also during the meeting, the legislature approved a $180,000 loan to 6 Sam Stratton LLC, also known as the flooring authority.

The loan, from the Economic Development Program, is for the purpose of creating and retaining jobs at the business, according to the resolution.

The Montgomery County Industrial Development Agency recommended approval of the loan.

According to the resolution, the company is looking to hire 12 new full time equivalent positions and keep three and a half full time positions over the next three years. The loan will be repaid in 180 equal monthly installments with an interest rate of 4.5 percent.

The county executive is inviting the public to the executive budget presentation on Wednesday at 6 p.m. in the Court House at 58 Broadway.

Ossenfort will present the tentative 2015 county budget during the event.

The Montgomery County Legislature approved its portion of the operating budget on Aug. 12.

County legislators also moved their September regular monthly meeting to Sept. 30 at 7 p.m.