Several area riders win at Royal

CAROGA LAKE – On the final night of points, a large field of riders was in attendance at Royal Mountain Ski Area for Monster Energy Supercross competition Wednesday.

The night was shortened by heavy rain, as each class ran just one moto.

A total of seven area riders picked up wins.

Fonda’s Tyler Blowers won the open mini 10- to 16-year-old class. He also placed second in the mini 80cc 12- to 15-year-old class.

Johnstown’s Phil Manchester won the 122-250 expert class. Manchester also placed second in the 122-open expert.

Broadalbin’s Colby Watras won the quad amateur class, while St. Johnsville’s Cameron Snell won the mini quad 50cc production class.

Fort Plain’s Ashton Neff won the 50cc pee wee junior 4- to 6-year-old class, while Johnstown’s Bennett Melita won the 50cc senior 7- and 8-year-old class.

Fultonville’s John Fonda won the mini 60cc 7- to 11-year-old class.

Two riders claimed wins in two different classes Wednesday.

Hudson Falls’ Edward Ladd Jr. won the plus-30 amateur and plus-40 amateur classes, while Westerlo’s Frank Hempstead III won the 122-250 amateur and 122-open amateur classes.

Other winners included Earlton’s Luke Ganance (junior mini 9-11), Medusa’s Cole Hulbert (122-250 novice), Queensbury’s Edward Ladd III (122-open novice), East Berne’s Cody Locci (122-open expert), Queensbury’s Tyler Jarvis (quad novice), Cairo’s Kyle McAlister (quad expert), Queensbury’s Mason St. John (mini quad 51-90cc production), West Sand Lake’s Ashton Kreiger (mini 80cc 9-11), Middle Grove’s Kenneth DeRidder (mini 80cc 12-15) and Vernon’s Christopher Knight (plus-30 expert).

Several area riders posted top-10 finishes.

Johnstown’s Brandon Handy was fourth in the open mini 10- to 16-year-old class. Handy also placed third in the mini 80cc 12- to 15-year-old class.

In the plus-30 amateur class, Pattersonville’s Mike Baker was third, Gloversville’s Keith Orr was fourth, Gloversville’s Jason Cook was sixth, Gloversville’s Jason Hughes was seventh and Gloversville’s Dennis Fitzpatrick was eighth.

Baker also placed third in the 122-250 novice class, while Johnstown’s Sean Smith was ninth.

In the 122-250 amateur class, Stratford’s Jacob Danyew was second and Fort Plain’s Zackery Kollar was third.

Johnstown’s Adryan Pelosi was second in the 122-open amateur class, while Kollar was fourth and Danyew was fifth.

Palatine Bridge’s David Wall was fourth in the 122-open novice class, while Gloversville’s Reid Persch was eighth.

E.J. McAuliffe was second in the second in the quad amateur class, while Gloversville’s Brian Sitterly was third.

In the mini quad 51-90cc production class, Mayfield’s Jordan Miller was second, Johnstown’s Jason Morrison Jr. was third and Fonda’s Charles Rose was fourth.

Johnstown’s Max Miller was third in the 50cc pee wee junior 4- to 6-year-old class, while Johnstown’s Jack Miller was third in the 50cc pee wee senior 7-and-8-year-old class.

Fonda’s Carter Peterson was eighth in the mini 60cc 7- to 11-year-old class, while Mayfield’s Jordan Miller was ninth. Peterson also placed third in the mini 80cc 9- to 11-year-old class.

In the plus-30 expert class, Fonda’s Clayton Blowers was second and Johnstown’s Todd Cleveland was third.

Royal Mountain will wrap up its season next Wednesday with its annual awards night. Racing is scheduled to begin at 7 p.m.

Monster Energy Supercross

at Royal Mountain Ski Area

Junior Mini (9-11): 1. Luke Ganance (Earlton), 2. Trevor Knight (Vernon), 3. Ashton Kreiger (West Sand Lake), 4. Isaac Lawyer (Saratoga Springs), 5. Trevor Stempel (Berne)

Open Mini (10-16): 1. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 2. Joshua Grant (Valley Falls), 3. Kenneth DeRidder (Middle Grove), 4. Brandon Handy (Johnstown), 5. Scott Hughes (Edmeston)

Plus-30 Amateur: 1. Edward Ladd Jr. (Hudson Falls), 2. David Ozog (Poland), 3. Mike Baker (Pattersonville), 4. Keith Orr (Gloversville), 5. Mike Mazuryk (Voorheesville)

Plus-40 Amateur: 1. Edward Ladd Jr. (Hudson Falls), 2. Todd Kinne (Frankfort), 3. Gary Hameister (Little Falls)

122-250 Novice: 1. Cole Hulbert (Medusa), 2. Devon Mayes (Ballston Spa), 3. Mike Baker (Pattersonville), 4. Damon Whipple (Castleton), 5. Robert Burl (Nassau)

122-250 Amateur: 1. Frank Hempstead (Westerlo), 2. Jacob Danyew (Stratford), 3. Zackery Kollar (Fort Plain), 4. Travis Witbeck (Johnsonville)

122-250 Expert: 1. Phil Manchester (Johnstown)

122-Open Novice: 1. Edward Ladd III (Queensbury), 2. Damon Whimple (Castleton), 3. Michael Sypolt (Poland), 4. David Wall (Palatine Bridge), 5. Cole Hulbert (Medusa)

122-Open Amateur: 1. Frank Hempstead IIi (Westerlo), 2. Adryan Pelosi (Johnstown), 3. Blaise McAllister (Cairo), 4. Zackery Kollar (Fort Plain), 5. Jacob Danyew (Stratford)

122-Open Expert: 1. Cody Locci (East Berne), 2. Phil Manchester (Johnstown), 3. Brian Falzo (Johnsonville)

Quad Novice: 1. Tyler Jarvis (Queensbury), 2. Todd Jones (Cairo), 3. Peter Miller (Troy), 4. Walter Reeves (Freehold)

Quad Amateur: 1. Colby Watras (Broadalbin), 2. E.J. McAuliffe (Gloversville), 3. Brian Sitterly (Gloversville)

Quad Expert: 1. Kyle McAlister (Cairo)

Mini Quad (50cc Production): 1. Cameron Snell (St. Johnsville)

Mini Quad (51-90cc Production): 1. Mason St. John-Lemery (Queensbury), 2. Jordan Miller (Mayfield), 3. Jason Morrison Jr. (Johnstown), 4. Charles Rose (Fonda), 5. Duncan Whitmore (Queensbury)

50cc Pee Wee Junior (4-6): 1. Ashton Neff (Fort Plain), 2. Brydon Broe (Queensbury), 3. Max Miller (Johnstown), 4. Robert Sprague (Glens Falls)

50cc Pee Wee Senior (7-8): 1. Bennett Melita (Johnstown), 2. Blake Shaver (Westerlo), 3. Jack Miller (Johnstown), 4. Torri Knight (Verona)

Mini 60cc (7-11): 1. John Fonda (Fultonville), 2. Kaden Ozog (Poland), 3. Isaac Lawyer (Saratoga Springs), 4. Connor Daly (Cobleskill), 5. Blake Shaver (Westerlo)

Mini 80cc (9-11): 1. Ashton Kreiger (West Sand Lake), 2. Skyler Armer (West Charlton), 3. Carter Peterson (Fonda)

Mini 80cc (12-15): 1. Kenneth DeRidder (Middle Grove), 2. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 3. Brandon Handy (Johnstown), 4. Scott Hughes (Edmeston)

Plus-30 Expert: 1. Christopher Knight (Vernon), 2. Clayton Blowers (Fonda), 3. Todd Cleveland (Johnstown)