Area riders post wins at Royal

CAROGA LAKE – Seven area riders were among the winners Wednesday during Monster Energy Supercross competition at Royal Mountain Ski Area.

Fonda’s Tyler Blowers won the open mini 10- to 16-year-old class, sweeping both motos. He also placed second in the mini 80cc 12- to 15-year-old class.

Fort Plain’s Zackery Kollar won the 122-open amateur class, winning both motos. Kollar also was second in the 122-250 amateur class.

Fonda’s Clayton Blowers won the plus-30 expert class, while Johnstown’s P.J. Bryant won the side-by-side sport class.

Area riders swept the top five in the quad amateur class, with Broadalbin’s Colby Watras taking first, Broadalbin’s Fred Hansen second, Gloversville’s Brian Sitterly third, Gloversville’s E.J. McAuliffe fourth and Johnstown’s Jesse Angel fifth.

St. Johnsville’s Cameron Snell won the mini quad 50cc production class, while Fort Plain’s Ashton Neff won both motos on his was to victory in the 50cc junior 4- to 6-year-old class.

Fultonville’s John Fonda III won the mini 60cc 7- to 11-year-old class, picking up wins in both motos. Fonda also placed third in the mini 80cc 9- to 11-year-old class.

Three riders picked up wins in two different classes Wednesday.

Catskill’s Kyle Brandow won the 122-250 novice and 122-open novice classes, Kingston’s Kyle Kaznowski won the 122-250 expert and 122-open expert classes and Gansevoort’s Nick Niles won the junior mini 9- to 11-year-old and mini 80cc 9- to 11-year-old classes.

Other winners included Gansevoort’s Jason Viger Sr. (plus-30 amateur), Hudson Falls’ Edward Ladd Jr. (plus-40 amateur), Westerlo’s Frank Hempstead III (122-250 amateur), Queensbury’s Tyler Jarvis (quad novice), Queensbury’s Mason St. John-Lemery (mini quad 51-90cc production), Clifton Park’s Gavin Betts (50cc pee wee 7-8) and Middle Grove’s Kenneth DeRidder (mini 80cc 12-15).

Several area riders posted top-10 finishes.

In the mini quad 51-90cc production class, Mayfield’s Jordan Miller was second, Johnstown’s Jason Morrison Jr. was third and Fonda’s Skylar Olmstead was fourth.

Fonda’s Charles Rose was fourth in the junior mini 9- to 11-year-old class. Rose also was sixth in the mini 60cc 7- to 11-year-old class, while Gloversville’s Nicholas Hughes was eighth.

In the plus-30 amateur class, Johnstown’s Stephen Melita was third, Gloversville’s Jason Cook was fourth, Fort Plain’s Leroy Nestler was fifth, Broadalbin’s Fred Seckler was sixth, Gloversville’s Jason Hughes was seventh and Gloversville’s Dennis Fitzpatrick was eighth.

In the 122-250 novice class, Johnstown’s Casey Battisti was second, Fort Plain’s Jesse Nestler was fifth and Johnstown’s Sean Smith was eighth.

Gloversville’s Reid Persch was fourth in the 122-open novice class, Battisti was fifth and Palatine Bridge’s David Wall was 10th.

Stratford’s Jacob Danyew was third in the 122-250 amateur class, Canajoharie’s C.J. Renzi was sixth and Gloversville’s Jake Laubenstein was seventh.

In the 122-open amateur class, Johnstown’s Adryan Pelosi was second and Danyew was sixth.

Johnstown’s Max Miller was third in the 50cc pee wee junior 4- to 6-year-old class, while Johnstown’s Cayden Bishop was fifth.

In the mini 80cc 12- to 15-year-old class, Caroga Lake’s Dalton Nichols was fifth, Johnstown’s Brandon Handy was sixth and Amsterdam’s Megan Alikonis was seventh.

Johnstown’s Todd Cleveland was second in the plus-30 expert class.

Broadalbin’s Josh Deuel was second in the quad novice class, while Hagaman’s Joe Spagnola was fifth.

Johnstown’s Bennett Melita was second in the 50cc senior 7-and-8-year-old class, while Johnstown’s Jack Miller was fifth. Melita also place fifth in the mini 60cc 7- to 11-year-old class.

Monster Energy Supercross

at Royal Mountain Ski Area

Junior Mini (9-11): 1. Nick Niles (Gansevoort), 2. Luke Ganance (Earlton), 3. Dylan Kenyon (Fort Edward), 4. Charles Rose (Fonda), 5. Ray Ray Sullivan (Marlboro)

Open Mini (10-16): 1. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 2. Kenneth DeRidder (Middle Grove), 3. Richie Smith (Granville), 4. Brandon Handy (Johnstown), 5. Jason Viger (Gansevoort)

Plus-30 Amateur: 1. Jason Viger Sr. (Gansevoort), 2. David Ozog (Poland), 3. Stephen Melita (Johnstown), 4. Jason Cook (Gloversville), 5. Leroy Nestler (Fort Plain)

Plus-40 Amateur: 1. Edward Ladd Jr. (Hudson Falls), 2. Jake Kiefner (Rotterdam)

122-250 Novice: 1. Kyle Brandow (Catskill), 2. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 3. Cole Hulbert (Medusa), 4. Josh Lambert (New Baltimore), 5. Jesse Nestler (Fort Plain)

122-250 Amateur: 1. Frank Hempstead III (Westerlo), 2. Zackery Kollar (Fort Plain), 3. Jacob Danyew (Stratford), 4. Evan Rosko (Schaghticoke), 5. Travis Witbeck (Johnsonville)

122-250 Expert: 1. Kyle Kaznowski (Kingston), 2. Cody Locci (East Berne)

122-Open Novice: 1. Kyle Brandow (Catskill), 2. Edward Ladd III (Queensbury), 3. Michael Sypolt (Poland), 4. Reid Persch (Gloversville), 5. Casey Battisti (Johnstown)

122-Open Amateur: 1. Zackery Kollar (Fort Plain), 2. Adryan Pelosi (Johnstown), 3. Frank Hempstead III (Westerlo), 4. Travis Witbeck (Johnsonville), 5. Blaise McAllister (Cairo)

122-Open Expert: 1. Kyle Kaznowski (Kingston), 2. Scott Carroll (Altamont), 3. Cody Locci (East Berne)

Quad Novice: 1. Tyler Jarvis (Queensbury), 2. Josh Deuel (Broadalbin), 3. Jake Rymanowski (Melrose), 4. Patrick Miller (Troy), 5. Joe Spagnola (Hagaman)

Quad Amateur: 1. Colby Watras (Broadalbin), 2. Fred Hansen (Broadalbin), 3. Brian Sitterly (Gloversville), 4. E.J. McAuliffe (Gloversville), 5. Jesse Angel (Johnstown)

Mini Quad (50cc production): 1. Cameron Snell (St. Johnsville)

Mini Quad (51-90cc production): 1. Mason St. John-Lemery (Queensbury), 2. Jordan Miller (Mayfield), 3. Jason Morrison Jr. (Johnstown), 4. Skylar Olmstead (Fonda)

50cc Pee Wee Junior (4-6): 1. Ashton Neff (Fort Plain), 2. Brydon Broe (Queensbury), 3. Max Miller (Johnstown), 4. Robert Sprague (Glens Falls), 5. Cayden Bishop (Johnstown)

50cc Pee Wee Senior (7-8): 1. Gavin Betts (Clifton Park), 2. Bennett Melita (Johnstown), 3. Trevor Stempel (Berne), 4. James O’Neil (East Berne), 5. Jack Miller (Johnstown)

Mini 60cc (7-11): 1. John Fonda III (Fultonville), 2. Gavin Betts (Clifton Park), 3. Kaden Ozog (Poland), 4. Isaac Lawyer (Saratoga Springs), 5. Bennett Melita (Johnstown)

Mini 80cc (9-11): 1. Nick Niles (Gansevoort), 2. Luke Ganance (Earlton), 3. John Fonda III (Fultonville), 4. Dylan Kenyon (Fort Edward)

Mini 80cc (12-15): 1. Kenneth DeRidder (Middle Grove), 2. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 3. Jason Viger (Gansevoort), 4. Scott Hughes (Edmeston), 5. Dalton Nichols (Caroga Lake)

Plus-30 Expert: 1. Clayton Blowers (Fonda), 2. Todd Cleveland (Johnstown)

Side-By-Side Sport: 1. P.J. Bryant (Johnstown), 2. Tony Caton (Saratoga Springs), 3. Jim Stanley (Malta)