Decker, Constantino pick up second-straight wins at Glen Ridge

FULTONVILLE – The Glen Ridge Motorsports Park is located in one of the most scenic locations you will ever see for a dirt race track and last Friday night with a great view of the Mohawk Valley and a beautiful summer sun set fans were treated to some very exciting action on “The Fastest 1/4 Mile on Dirt”.

Willy Decker made it two in a row at his new Friday night home taking the modified feature win and Dave Constantino won his second in a row in the sportsman division.

Danny Varin was the star in the C.R.S.A. sprint race and Darral Hulbert took another win in the vintage modifieds. In the 4-cylinders it was again Pete Vila the winner, while Francis Oliver won in the Xcell 600.

On Timco Transportation night at “The Ridge” and as starter Joe Kriss waved the green flag to begin the 35-lap modified feature Josh Hohenforst grabbed the early lead over pole sitter Eric Mack and Decker.

Korey Wilder moved ahead of Decker, only to loose that advantage one lap later when he drifted high in turn four making contact with the outside wall.

Hohenforst continued to lead, with Mack, Decker, Bobby Vedder, and Jim Becker making up the top five. Wilder brought out the yellow on lap 6 with a flat tire from his earlier contact with the wall. On the ensuing restart points leader Bobby Varin passed Becker to move into the top five and then passed Vedder.

A couple laps later Craig Hanson got inside of Vedder to now join the leaders. Slower traffic became a factor around lap 19 as Varin was able to close in on Mack.

Rocky Warner made his presence known on lap 22 as he passed Becker on the inside for the sixth spot. With 25 laps on the counter, Varin caught Mack on the backstretch and, in what was viewed as a racing incident took place, with Mack spinning out. Mack’s night was done and Varin was set back two positions by track officials for his actions.

On the restart leader Hohenforst took the outside as he thought that was his best opportunity to protect his lead, but Decker had other ideas. From his inside position he shot to the front with Hohenforst and Hanson giving chase. Decker held on to take his second win in a row, with Hanson, Varin, Hohenforst and Warner rounding out the top five.

Warner was the recipient of the Annual Schoharie Kiwanis “Hard Charger Award” presented by former president and 25 year member Bobby Vedder.

At the start of the 25-lap sportsman feature the ageless wonder Laudy Hoyenga and Brian Calabrese were the first to fire when the green came out and Calabrese wasted no time in jumping to the early lead. Hoyenga settled into second with Aaron Burton and Tony Farone on his heels. Burton took over second on the next lap and Farone was up to third the next time the field passed the grandstands.

Hoyenga brought out the caution flag on lap four. Constantino was sitting fourth on the restart and moved up to second by lap five when the yellow was out again, this time for Kyle DeMetro and Justin Auspulmyer, who became locked together with the left front shock tower of DeMetro jammed inside the rear bumper of Auspulmyer.

The restart was Constantino’s opportunity to lead, but Burton and Justin Knight got crossed up on the backstretch with Knight suffering the most damage and ending his hopes on a good finish.

Following another yellow on the ensuing restart, the call was made to go to a single file restart.

By lap 10 Constantino built a huge lead over Calabrese and Rocky Warner. Traffic began to be a factor for the leader, with a few bumps happening with the slower cars on the speedway. Warner had moved into second by lap 18 and did his best to gain ground, but Constantino held on for his second win in a row over Warner, Calabrese, Justin Combs and Chad Edwards.

The CRSA 305-winged sprinters were back and with a nice field of 20 racers they never fail to present a fantastic feature for the Glen Ridge fans.

MODIFIED-35 LAPS-WILLY DECKER, Craig Hanson, Bobby Varin, Josh Hohenforst, Rocky Warner, Jim Becker, JaMike Sowle, Jeff Rockefeller, Rich Price, Bobby Vedder, Korey Wilder, Al McCoy, Shawn Pangman, Danny Varin(DNS), Mark Maille(DNS), Eric Mack(DQ).

SPORTSMAN-25 LAP-DAVE CONSTANTINO, Rocky Warner, Brian Calabrese, Justin Combs, Chad Edwards, Tony Farone, Brian Pessolano, Shea Montgomery, Floyd Billington, Mark Mortensen, Justin Auspulmyer, Harry Shaffer, Kyle DeMetro, A.J. Prime, Don Folts, Laudy Hoyenga, Jim Introne Jr., Kurtis Hohensheldt, Aaron Burton, Justin Knight, Chip Constantino, Adam McAuliffe(DNS).

C.R.S.A.-25 LAP-DANNY VARIN, Cory Sparks, Josh Pieniazek, Bob Gray, Scott Goodrich, Mike Kiser, John Matrafailo, Chad King, Kyle Smith, Warren Alexson, Jeremy Quick, Joe Kata, Dalton Herrick, Tyler Chartrand, Mark Taylor, Emily VanInwegan, Kory Gurney, Thomas Radivoy, Matt Tanner, Tyler Jashembowski.

VINTAGE-15 LAP-DARRAL HULBERT, Don Greco, Rob Casti, Frank Blanchard, Buck Gasner, Barney Waldron, Charlie Scofield, Bill Anderson, A.J. Perna(DNS), Keith Tesiero Jr.(DNS), John Constantino(DNS).

4 CYLINDER-15 lap-PETE VILA, Keith Tesiero Sr., Keith Tesiero Jr., Wayne Russell Jr., Jamie Lee Warner, Steve McMurray.

XCELL 600-15 LAP-FRANCIS OLIVER, A.J. Miller, Ed Houser.