Elections for 2014 start to take shape

JOHNSTOWN -A two-way Democratic primary will take place in September for candidates seeking to unseat Fulton County’s longtime Republican state senator.

According to the state Board of Elections, longtime 81-year-old Republican state Sen. Hugh T. Farley, R-Niskayuna, of the 49th Senatorial District, filed his petitions this week for re-election.

The winner of a Democratic primary in September between Patti Southworth and Madelyn C. Thorne will face Farley in the general election.

Thorne also will be on the Working Families line in November.

Farley also will be on the Conservative and Independence party lines in November.

Farley’s district includes all of Fulton and Hamilton counties, as well as northern Herkimer County, eastern Schenectady County and western Saratoga County.

Major party candidates for area state and local political offices filed designating petitions this week with the state Board of Elections in Albany and the Fulton and Montgomery county boards of elections.

Independent petitions will be filed from Aug. 12 to 19. Primary Day is Sept. 9, and the general election will be Nov. 4.

Fulton County has a light election year for 2014, with only one local primary in the town of Mayfield and no Democratic candidates on the ballot throughout the county.

The state Board of Elections indicated state Assemblyman Marc W. Butler, R-Newport, of the 118th state Assembly District, also filed this week to seek re-election. Butler, who will be on the Conservative line in November, currently faces no opposition. Butler’s district includes all of Fulton County, as well as Hamilton, St. Lawrence, Lewis, Herkimer and Oneida counties.

State Sen. Cecilia Tkaczyk, D-Duanesburg, of the 46th Senate District, filed for re-election. Her district includes all of Montgomery and Greene counties and parts of Schenectady, Albany and Ulster counties.

She will be on the Democratic and Working Families lines. She will face a general election challenge from former state Assemblyman George A. Amedore Jr., who will be on the Republican line in the fall. Amedore also faces an Independence Party primary challenge from Joseph A. DiFalco.

State Assemblyman Angelo Santabarbara, D-Rotterdam, of the 111th state Assembly District, faces general-election opposition from Republican-Conservative newcomer Peter A. Vroman, the Montgomery County undersheriff. Santabarbara, whose district consists of Montgomery, Albany and Schenectady counties, also will be on the Working Families and Independence lines in November.

In other local Fulton County political filings:

Republican Fulton County District Attorney Louise Sira is officially seeking re-election and faces no opposition at this time.

Republican Gary Antonucci is running for a seat on the Gloversville Water Board.

Republican Johnstown City Water Board Chairman Nicholas Cannizzo Sr. filed for re-election.

A Republican primary for councilman on the Mayfield Town Board is set between Lois E. Montanye and Jack E. Putman.

Republican David R. Edwards is seeking election as town of Johnstown justice. He is currently serving in that post. Also seeking re-election as town of Johnstown justice is Republican Karen L. Palmateer.

Republican Mayfield Town Justice John B. Papa Sr. filed for re-election.

Republican Broadalbin Town Justice Joseph W. Gilston Sr. is seeking re-election.

Montgomery County

At least four people will run for two open seats on the Amsterdam Town Board. Robert Purtell will run under the Democratic and Conservative party lines. Mary Maines will run under the Democratic party line. Ronald DiCaprio and Jeffrey Kreisel are running as Republicans.

Current Montgomery County Sheriff Michael J. Amato will run for re-election under the Republican, Independence and Conservative party lines. He faces no opposition at this time.

Montgomery County Clerk Helen Bartone will seek election under the Democrat and Conservative party lines. She faces no opposition at this time.