100th anniversary of Glove Theatre celebrated with gala

GLOVERSVILLE – The Gloversville Theatre Corporation hosted a gala celebrating the Glove Performing Arts Center’s 100th year June 7. Champagne and hors d’oeuvres were served to the guests, a news release said.

Mark Finkle, Glove Theatre Board of Directors president, welcomed everyone to the gala, while Evamarie Mraz, board vice president, introduced the board members. The history of the theater was presented by museum curator and executive director Richard Samrov. Board member Peter O’Lucci also spoke about the future of the theater and the restoration, the release said.

A proclamation was presented to the Glove Theatre by Assemblyman Marc Butler, while Dottie MacVean presented the proclamation to the Gloversville Theatre Corporation, with Samrov accepting the honor. Invited guests of the theater also viewed a talent show in the theater after the gala.

Cash prizes were presented to the winners of the talent show, including: Jordan Collar, Noah Clo, James Collar, Jessica Flood, Erin Morrison, Frances Perez, Elizabeth Betz, Shawn Beebie, Emily Smith, Bradley Shane and Pamela Dale. The judges for the evening were Kathy Smith, Eva Mraz, Sally Brien and Stanley Bojarski. The master of ceremonies was Mark Joseph Peek.