FFCS Hall of Fame names class of 2014

FONDA – The Fonda-Fultonville Athletic Hall of Fame Committee recently announced its induction class for 2014.

This class has been reserved for the past individuals or teams that have met the criteria for automatic induction.

That group includes those who have been an Olympic participant, a national champion, a state champion, received All-America honors, or have been a state Player of the Year. They must also meet all other criteria for recognition, including having graduated from FFCS at least seven years ago.

Among those scheduled to be inducted this year are Jennifer (Petersen) Jette (state champion – indoor high jump – 1992, outdoor pentathlon – 1992), Rick (Rajter) Manelius (state champion – outdoor pentathlon – 1992), John Moore – (state champion – outdoor 800 meters – 2006), Phil Boshart (high school All-America – basketball – 1971), Micah Kimball (high school All-America – football – 1998), Bill Goebel (Class C State Player of the Year – Football – 1993), and Ingrid (Hantho) Frame (Division I All-America – University of North Carolina, Discus – 1993)

In addition to the eight individuals, three teams and one coach also will be honored.

The 2005 cross country team, which won the state Class C title, will be honored. The team included Jeff Dufel, E.J. Givis, John Moore, Blake Dwyer, Joe Geniti, Jeremy McAllister and Brian Palumbo.

The 2005 4 x 800 relay team, which won an outdoor state track title, also will be honored. The team featured Adam Bush, Jeremy McAllister, John Moore and Brian Yurkewicz.

Also slated to be honored is the 2006 4 x 800 relay team, which won an outdoor state track title. The team included Adam Bush, Jeremy McAllister, John Moore and Joe Geniti.

Longtime cross country, indoor track and field, and outdoor track and field coach Mark Therrien will be honored for coaching the cross country team to state titles in 2005 and 2010.

This year’s induction class will be honored Oct. 11 at halftime of the homecoming football game.