FFCS athletes earn all-star honors

Several Fonda-Fultonville athletes were among those selected for the recently announced Colonial Council track and field all-star team.

Lindsay Therrien was named a first-team all-star in three different events for the Fonda-Fultonville girls. Therrien earned first-team honors in the 100 hurdles, triple jump and high jump.

Kimberly Geniti (400 hurdles) and Camryn Savoie (discus) also earned first-team honors for the Lady Braves.

Rebekah Hentnik was named a second-team all-star in the pole vault.

Michael Sweet was named a first-team all-star for the FFCS boys in the 110-meter hurdles and 400-meter hurdles.

The Braves also had their 3,200 relay team earn first-team honors. The relay team includes Tyler Weaver, Dylan DeSorbo, Damion Freeman and Cameron Gilligan.


Albany Academy’s Griffin Keegan, Cobleskill-Richmondville’s Don Thorington and Albany Academy’s Billy Melchionni were named to the first team in two different events. Thorington earned first-team honors in the shot put and discus, while Melchionni was named to the first team in the 200 and 400 meters. Keegan was named to the first team in the 3,200 and 3,000-meter steeplechase.

Cobleskill-Richmondville also had Wisdom Kotoku (100) and Zach Haskins (high jump) named first-team all-stars, while Albany Academy had Jelani King (long jump) named to the first team.

Also named to the first team were Ichabod Crane’s Mark Korycinski (800), Lansingburgh’s Mike Miller (1,600), Mechanicville’s Michael Cannizzo (triple jump) and Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk’s Craig Brozowski (pole vault). Miller also was named to the second team in the 800 meters.

Cohoes had its 400 and 1,600 relay teams named to the first team.

Billy Campbell, John Malulan, Zaire Folds and Anthony Dumesnil were part of the 400 relay team, while Jason Hake, Jerrod Rodriguez, Campbell and Folds were part of the 1,600 relay team.

Hake (400) and Folds (200) also were named second-team all-stars.

Cobleskill-Richmondville’s Jacob Holmes was named a second-team all-star in the long jump and high jump.

Ichabod Crane had Luykas VanAlstyne (400 hurdles), Austin Leonard (triple jump), Justin Secovnie (pole vault) and Devin Spaia (discus) named second-team all-stars.

Also named to the second team were Lansingburgh’s Jordan Clouthier (100) and Devin McGuirk (1,600); Schalmont’s Jon Ricciardi (3,200); Cobleskill-Richmondville’s Nate Gerhardt (110 hurdles); and Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk’s Angel Colon (3,000 steeplechase) and Kevin O’Donnell (shot put).


Albany Academy had three athletes named to the girls first team, including Amara Steenburn (200, long jump), Lacey Wade (2,000 steeplechase), Emily Acker (3,000) and Sarah Jones (pole vault), while Schalmont had Samantha Regan (400) and Julia Flower (1,500) named to the first team.

Steenburn and Flower also earned second-team honors in the 100 and 800 meters, respectively.

Also named first-team all-stars were Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk’s Karra Douglas (100), Holy Names’ Leah Triller (800) and Cobleskill-Richmondville’s Kaitlin Klein (shot put).

Douglas also was named to the second team in the 200 meters, while Triller was named to the second team in the 1,500.

Schalmont’s 400-meter relay team of Teyanna Harres, Rachel Pratt, Ashley Decinto and Pilar Diaz-Usechii was named to the first team, along with Holy Names’ 1,600 relay team, which consisted of Triller, Hannah Loder, Brianna Wagner and Kaitlin Close.

Close also earned second-team honors in the 400 meters,

Ichabod Crane’s 3,200 relay team also was named to the first team. The team included Sagan Leggett, Sarah Dempsey, Mariela Jacome and Jenna Smith.

Santos U-Lea was named to the second team in the shot put and discus for Albany Academy, while Julia Galasso (400 hurdles) and Kyla Finlayson (long jump) also earned second-team honors.

Also named to the second team were Holy Names’ Kaylee Scott (3,000), Meredith Francini (2,000 steeplechase) and Alyson Insero (high jump); Schalmont’s Teyanna Harres (100 hurdles) and Cobleskill-Richmondville’s Noelle LaVine (triple jump).

2014 Colonial Council Track & Field All-Stars

First Team


100: Wisdom Kotoku (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

200: Billy Melchionni (Albany Academy)

400: Billy Melchionni (Albany Academy)

800: Mark Korycinski (Ichabod Crane)

1,600: Mike Miller (Lansingburgh)

3,200: Griffin Keegan (Albany Academy)

110 hurdles: Michael Sweet (Fonda-Fultonville)

400 hurdles: Michael Sweet (Fonda-Fultonville)

3,000 steeplechase: Griffin Keegan (Albany Academy)

400 relay: Cohoes (Billy Campbell, John Malulan, Zaire Folds, Anthony Dumesnil)

1,600 relay: Cohoes (Jason Hake, Billy Campbell, Jerrod Rodriguez, Zaire Folds)

3,200 relay: Fonda-Fultonville (Tyler Weaver, Dylan DeSorbo, Damion Freeman, Cameron Gilligan)

Long jump: Jelani King (Albany Academy)

Triple jump: Michael Cannizzo (Mechanicville)

High jump: Zach Haskins (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

Pole vault: Craig Brozowski (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk)

Shot put: Don Thorington (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

Discus: Don Thorington (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

Second Team

100: Jordan Cloutier (Lansingburgh)

200: Zaire Folds (Cohoes)

400: Jason Hake (Cohoes)

800: Mike Miller (Lansingburgh)

1,600: Devin McGuirk (Lansingburgh)

3,200: Jon Ricciardi (Schalmont)

110 hurdles: Nate Gerhardt (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

400 hurdles: Luykas VanAlstyne (Ichabod Crane)

3,000 steeplechase: Angel Colon (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk)

Long jump: Jacob Holmes (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

Triple jump: Austin Leonard (Ichabod Crane)

High jump: Jacob Holmes (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

Pole vault: Justin Secovnie (Ichabod Crane)

Shot put: Kevin O’Donnell (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk)

Discus: Devin Spaia (Ichabod Crane)


First Team

100: Karra Douglas (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk)

200: Amara Steenburn (Albany Academy)

400: Samantha Regan (Schalmont)

800: Leah Triller (Holy Names)

1,500: Julia Flower (Schalmont)

3,000: Emily Acker (Albany Academy)

100 hurdles: Lindsay Therrien (Fonda-Fultonville)

400 hurdles: Kimberly Geniti (Fonda-Fultonville)

2,000 steeplechase: Lacey Wade (Albany Academy)

400 relay: Schalmont (Teyanna Harres, Rachel Pratt, Ashley Decinto, Pilar Diaz-Usechii)

1,600 relay: Holy Names (Hannah Loder, Leah Triller, Brianna Wagner, Kaitlin Close)

3,200 relay: Ichabod Crane (Sagan Leggett, Sarah Dempsey, Mariela Jacome, Jenna Smith)

Long jump: Amara Steenburn (Albany Academy)

Triple jump: Lindsay Therrien (Fonda-Fultonville)

Shot put: Kaitlin Klein (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

Discus: Camryn Savoie (Fonda-Fultonville)

High jump: Lindsay Therrien (Fonda-Fultonville)

Pole vault: Sarah Jones (Albany Academy)

Second Team

100: Amara Steenburn (Albany Academy)

200: Karra Douglas (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk)

400: Kaitlin Close (Holy Names)

800: Julia Flower (Schalmont)

1,500: Leah Triller (Holy Names)

3,000: Kaylee Scott (Holy Names)

100 hurdles: Teyanna Harres (Schalmont)

400 hurdles: Julia Galasso (Albany Academy)

2,000 steeplechase: Meredith Franchini (Holy Names)

Long jump: Kyla Finlayson (Albany Academy)

Triple jump: Noelle LaVine (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

High jump: Alyson Insero (Holy Names)

Pole vault: Rebekah Hentnik (Fonda-Fultonville)

Shot put: Santos U-Lea (Albany Academy)

Discus: Santos U-Lea (Albany Academy)