Area riders post wins at Royal

CAROGA LAKE – Several area riders posted strong showings Wednesday during Monster Energy Supercross competition at Royal Mountain Ski Area.

Eight local riders claimed wins during Wednesday night’s action.

Fonda’s Charles Rose picked up the win in the junior mini 9- to 11-year-old class, while Johnstown’s Todd Cleveland won the plus 30 expert class. Rose also placed third in the mini 60cc 7- to 11-year-old class.

Johnstown’s Adryan Pelosi won the 122-open amateur class.

Fort Plain’s Zackery Kollar won the 122-250 amateur class. Kollar also placed fourth in the 122-open amateur class.

Mayfield’s B.J. Smith won the 122-open expert class, while Broadalbin’s Fred Hansen won the quad amateur class.

Johnstown’s Bennett Melita won the 50cc senior 7- and 8-year-old class. He also placed fourth in the mini 60cc 7- to 11-year-old class.

In the debut of the side-by-side sport class, Gloversville’s Brett Melita won with Mayfield’s Kevin VanNostrand second.

Other winners included New Hartford’s Ryan Conte (open mini 10-16), Yorkville’s Jamie Nimey (plus 40 amateur), Catskill’s Kyle Brandow (122-250 novice), Greenville’s Joseph Vitetta (122-250 expert), Coxsackie’s Joshua Wolfe (122-open novice), Queensbury’s Tyler Jarvis (quad novice), Queensbury’s Mason St. John-Lemery (mini quad 51-90cc), Saratoga Springs’ Isaac Lawyer (mini 60cc 7-11), Queensbury’s Brydon Broe (50cc junior 4-6), West Charlton’s Skyler Armer (mini 80cc 9-11), Middle Grove’s Kenneth DeRidder (mini 80cc 12-15) and Argyle’s Ernie Weir (plus 30 amateur).

Several area riders posted top-10 finishes.

Dolgeville’s Connor Claus was seventh in the open mini 10- to 16-year-old class.

In the 122-250 novice class, Broadalbin’s Andrew Hughes was fourth, Johnstown’s Sean Smith was seventh and Gloversville’s Tommy Perham was eighth.

Stratford’s Jacob Danyew was fifth in the 122-250 amateur class, while Fort Plain’s Dakota Nemecek was sixth and Caroga Lake’s Jack Mulyca was ninth. Danyew also placed sixth in the 122-open amateur class.

In the 122-open novice class, Gloversville’s Reid Persch was fourth and Gloversville’s Sean Dufel was sixth.

Johnstown’s Phil Manchester was fourth in the 122-250 expert class and second in the 122-open expert class, while Amsterdam’s Brandon Dumblewski was second in the 50cc 7- and 8-year-old class.

In the quad amateur class, Broadalbin’s Colby Watras was second, Johnstown’s Jesse Angel was third and Gloversville’s E.J. McAuliffe was fifth.

Mayfield’s Jordan Miller was second in the mini quad 51-90cc class, Fonda’s Skylar Olmstead was fourth and Johnstown’s Jason Morrison Jr. was fifth.

In the mini 80cc 12- to 15-year-old class, Fonda’s Tyler Blowers was second and Caroga Lake’s Dalton Nichols was fifth.

Gloversville’s Dennis Fitzpatrick was third in the plus 30 amateur class, while Johnstown’s Max Miller was third in the 50cc pee wee 4- to 6-year-old class.

Palatine Bridge’s Grant Mattice was fifth in the mini 60cc 7- to 11-year-old class, while Gloversville’s Nicholas Hughes was sixth.

Monster Energy Supercross

at Royal Mountain Ski Area

Junior Mini (9-11): 1. Charles Rose (Fonda)

Open Mini (10-16): 1. Ryan Conte (New Hartford), 2. Kenneth DeRidder (Middle Grove), 3. Reid Schindler (Catskill), 4. Scott Hughes (Edmeston), 5. Damion Lawlor (Saratoga Springs)

Plus 30 Expert: 1. Todd Cleveland (Johnstown)

Plus 40 Amateur: 1. Jamie Nimey (Yorkville), 2. Gordon Cook (Hudson Falls)

122-250 Novice: 1. Kyle Brandow (Catskill), 2. Pat DiBiase (Ravena), 3. Ryan Donadio (Schenectady), 4. Andrew Hughes (Broadalbin), 5. Ryan Conte (New Hartford)

122-250 Amateur: 1. Zackery Kollar (Fort Plain), 2. Nicholas Schindler (Catskill), 3, Cody Wolfe (Coxsackie), 4. Jacob Church (Greenville), 5. Jacob Danyew (Stratford)

122-250 Expert: 1. Joseph Vitetta (Greenville), 2. Cody Locci (East Berne), 3. Michael Lawlor (Schodack Landing), 4. Phil Manchester (Johnstown)

122-Open Novice: 1. Joshua Wolfe (Coxsackie), 2. Kyle Brandow (Catskill), 3. Pat DiBiase (Ravena), 4. Reid Persch (Gloversville), 5. Cole Hulbert (Medusa)

122-Open Amateur: 1. Adryan Pelosi (Johnstown), 2. Jacob Church (Greenville), 3. Kyle Longo (Schenectady), 4. Zackery Kollar (Fort Plain), 5. Nicholas Schindler (Catskill)

122-Open Expert: 1. B.J. Smith (Mayfield), 2. Phil Manchester (Johnstown), 3. Michael Lawlor (Schodack Landing), 4, Cody Locci (East Berne), 5. Brian Falzo (Johnsonville).

Quad Novice: 1. Tyler Jarvis (Queensbury).

Quad Amateur: 1. Fred Hansen (Broadalbin), 2. Colby Watras (Broadalbin), 3. Jesse Angel (Johnstown), 4. John Bedit, 5. E.J. McAuliffe (Gloversville)

Mini Quad (51-90cc): 1. Mason St. John-Lemery (Queensbury), 2. Jordan Miller (Mayfield), 3. Zachary Dufresne (Valley Falls), 4. Skylar Olmstead (Fonda), 5. Jason Morrison Jr. (Johnstown)

50cc Pee Wee (Junior 4-6): 1. Brydon Broe (Queensbury), 2. Robert Sprague (Glens Falls), 3. Max Miller (Johnstown)

50cc Pee Wee (Senior 7-8): 1. Bennett Melita (Johnstown), 2. Brandon Dumblewski (Amsterdam)

Mini 60cc (7-11): 1. Isaac Lawyer (Saratoga Springs), 2. Brett Unser (Scotia), 3. Charles Rose (Fonda), 4. Bennett Melita (Johnstown), 5. Grant Mattice (Palatine Bridge)

Mini 80cc (9-11): 1. Skyler Armer (West Charlton)

Mini 80cc (12-15): 1. Kenneth DeRidder (Middle Grove), 2. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 3. Dylan Unser (Scotia), 4. Scott Hughes (Edmeston), 5. Dalton Nichols (Caroga Lake)

Plus 30 Amateur: 1. Ernie Weir (Argyle), 2. Joe Falzo (Johnsonville), 3. Dennis Fitzpatrick (Gloversville)

Side-By-Side Sport: 1. Brett Melita (Gloversville), 2. Kevin VanNostrand (Mayfield)