Fonda Speedway to host special event Thursday

FONDA – When the World of Outlaw Late Model Series postponed their event, which was scheduled at the Fonda Speedway on Thursday, promoter Matt DeLorenzo decided to keep the date on the schedule and change it to a modified event paying $5,000-to-win along with a $1,000-to-win GRIT Series event for the sportsman cars.

The grandstand general admission price will be $10 for adults and $2 for children 12 years and younger.

The starting time for the midweek event will be 7 p.m.

The World of Outlaw Late Model Series postponed its lone appearance this season in New York to 2015, when it is expected to be part of a larger swing through the Northeast.

“Our goal as a series is to always put on the best show possible for our fans,” World of Outlaw Late Model Series director Tim Christman said in a press release. “We were unable to secure an event to run in conjunction with Fonda this year, and rather than put on a subpar showing in a region with limited late model competitors to join us, we will focus on building a bigger swing through the Northeast in 2015.”

“Originally the plan was to run the World of Outlaw Late Models at another facility and our show at Fonda to make it a two-race swing into New York for the traveling series,” DeLorenzo said. “The other event did not materialize so therefore the series decided to cancel our show at Fonda until next year. The next event for the World of Outlaw Late Model Series after the event at Fonda would not have been until the following Tuesday, June 24, at Big Diamond, which was a big gap in their schedule.”

However, the race date stayed on the Fonda schedule and will now be a 50-lap “All Green” event for the modifieds, paying $5,000-to-win which will be named the “Empire State Championship 50.”

The modified event will be a draw for the heats and a re-draw for the feature; Fonda/DIRTcar rules will apply.

The winner of the “Empire State Championship 50” will also receive a guaranteed starting spot for the 29th annual Outlaw 200 at Fulton Speedway on Oct. 4.

Show-up points also will be awarded to all Fonda regulars in both divisions Thursday.

Modified feature winners (big and small block) of events 50-laps or longer at the Fonda Speedway from 1953-2013 include Lou Lazzaro who leads the way with 32 victories followed by Jack Johnson with 29; and Dave Lape and Brett Hearn with 20.

Mike Romano has 11 modified feature wins in races 50 laps or longer, followed by C.D. Coville with 10; Ken Shoemaker and Alan Johnson with nine; Jimmy Horton, Danny Johnson and Doug Hoffman with eight; Bobby Varin with seven; Steve Danish and Bill Wimble with six; Pete Corey and Rene Charland with five; Harry Peek, Bob McCreadie and Pat Ward with four; Jeep Herbert, Matt DeLorenzo and Stewart Friesen with three; Ed Ortiz, Jerry Cook, Will Cagle, Gary Balough, Charlie Rudolph, Billy Pauch, Kevin Collins and Tim McCreadie all with two wins apiece.

George Gallup, Jim Luke, Don Hendenberg, Irv Taylor, Cliff Kotary, Tom Kotary, Buck Holliday, Ernie Gahan, Ron Narducci, Jerry Pennock, Lee Millington, Maynard Forrette, Buzzie Reutimann, Ralph Holmes, Dave Pelczar, Dave Buanno, Jim Winks, Wayne Reutimann, Pep Pepicelli, Tom Wilson, Tim Dwyer, Kenny Brightbill, Billy Decker, A.J. Romano, Jeff Trombley, Steve Paine, Kenny Tremont Jr., Mitch Gibbs, Tony Pepicelli, Bob Savoie, Mike Mahaney and Matt Sheppard complete the list with one win apiece.

For more information about Fonda Speedway, visit the track’s website,