School district honors personnel

JOHNSTOWN – Two departing Greater Johnstown School District Board of Education members, and 17 retiring district staffers, were recognized by the school system Thursday at Johnstown High School.

Departing board members are Anne Cassidy, who wasn’t present, and Brian Miller. Both chose not to run again for new three-year terms. New board members Scott Miller and Evamarie Mraz will be sworn in at the July organizational meeting.

“Brian, I appreciate the three years we’ve grown to know each other,” board President Paul VanDenburgh told Miller, who served a total of six years as a board member.

He said Miller brought a “common sense approach” to the district.

“We really thank you so much for your dedication and time,” VanDenburgh said.

VanDenburgh noted Cassidy couldn’t attend Thursday night because of choir duties with the Fonda-Fultonville Central School District. But he read a message from her to the board, which stated in part it was an “honor and privilege” to serve.

“I believe the district will achieve even greater progress,” the message said.

In other recognitions Thursday, 17 retiring district personnel were honored with words and gifts. They were: Susan Ackerbauer, Warren Street Elementary School kindergarten teacher; Yvette Auty, JHS mathematics teacher; Janet Bray, teacher assistant; Louise Carville, Pleasant Avenue Elementary School teacher; June Coleman, Glebe Street Elementary School fourth-grade teacher; Andrew Dagostino, JHS special education teacher; Astrid Duross, Pleasant Avenue Elementary School teacher; Mary Jablonski, speech teacher; Kathy Leibowitz, Glebe Street Elementary School second-grade teacher; Debra Oathout, Warren Street Elementary School teacher assistant; Caroline Olszowy, Glebe Street Elementary School special education teacher; Catherine Santangelo, JHS mathematics teacher; Deborah Sepanara, Pleasant Avenue Elementary School teacher, Sandra Vosburgh, Glebe Street Elementary School second-grade teacher; Claudia Jurica, Knox Junior High School school secretary; Sharon Pinaha, Pleasant Avenue Elementary School monitor; Deborah Sherman, account clerk typist.

School officials also presented numerous scholar athlete team awards to students in various sports.