Western Athletic Conference announces softball all-stars

Several area softball players were among those recognized by the Western Athletic Conference on the league’s recently released all-star team.

Oppenheim-Ephratah’s Leann Clark was named the WAC North Division Most Valuable Player. Clark helped the Lady Wolves to a 12-7 overall record and a share of the WAC North title.

Caitlin Handy was named a first-team all-star for OESJ, while Kyleigh Hayner was named to the second team.

Canajoharie had three players – Lauren Balfe, Shyanna Logan and Bri Slater – earn first-team honors. The Lady Cougars went 9-8 overall and shared the WAC North title with Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville.

Haley Kilmartin and Kendra Trembley earned first-team honors for Fort Plain, while Abby Boyer and Shauna Cotton were named to the second team.

Joecelyn Maher and Emily McCarthy were named first-team all-stars for Saratoga Catholic, while Galway’s Felicia Snyder also earned first-team honors.

Mackenzie Biggers and Lyndsey Barber earned second-team honors for Mayfield, which finished 7-11 overall this season.

Also named second-team all-stars were Galway’s Sabrina Williams and Jessi Freebern; and Saratoga Catholic’s Liza Orsini and Sloan Conners.

In the South Division, Duanesburg’s Rachel Gamache was named the division’s MVP.

Tori Powers, Sydney Foland and Tess Bloom were named first-team all-stars for Duanesburg, while Lia Schettine and Devon Hennel were named to the second team.

Gabby Danthine and Sydney Stanley were named first-team all-stars for Schoharie, while Middleburgh’s Cassidy Coons and Bailey Wood also claimed first-team honors.

Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Kaitlyn Curvin and Mekeel Christian Academy’s Nicole Barratiere also were named first-team all-stars.

Schoharie had Kaitlin Kendle, Allison Liddle, Lyndsey Vanier and Jillian Scofield named second-team all-stars.

Also earning second-team honors were Middleburgh’s Susie Risch, Sharon Springs’ Kara VanArsal and Mekeel Christian Academy’s Nicole Pigliavento.

2014 Western Athletic Conference Softball All-Stars

North Division

MVP: Leann Clark (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville)

First Team

Haley Kilmartin (Fort Plain), Kendra Trembley (Fort Plain), Felicia Snyder (Galway), Caitlin Handy (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Emily McCarthy (Saratoga Catholic), Jocelyn Maher (Saratoga Catholic), Lauren Balfe (Canajoharie), Shyanna Logan (Canajoharie), Bri Slater (Canajoharie)

Second Team

Abby Boyer (Fort Plain), Shauna Cotton (Fort Plain), Sabrina Williams (Galway), Jessi Freebern (Galway), Mackenzie Biggers (Mayfield), Lyndsey Barber (Mayfield), Kyleigh Hayner (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Liza Orsini (Saratoga Catholic), Sloan Conners (Saratoga Catholic)

South Division

MVP: Rachel Gamache (Duanesburg)

First Team

Kaitlun Curvin (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Tori Powers (Duanesburg), Sydney Foland (Duanesburg), Tess Bloom (Duanesburg), Cassidy Coons (Middleburgh), Bailey Wood (Middleburgh), Gabby Danthine (Schoharie), Sydney Stanley (Schoharie), Nicole Barratiere (Mekeel Christian)

Second Team

Lia Schettine (Duanesburg), Devon Hennel (Duanesburg), Susie Risch (Middleburgh), Kaitlin Kendle (Schoharie), Allison Liddle (Schoharie), Lyndsey Vanier (Schoharie), Jillian Scofield (Schoharie), Kara VanArsdal (Sharon Springs), Nicole Pigliavento (Mekeel Christian)