Fort Plain’s Heroth named WAC North co-MVP

Several area players were among those selected for the recently announced Western Athletic Conference baseball all-star team.

Fort Plain sophomore Jesse Heroth was named the North Division co-Most Valuable Player, sharing the award with Saratoga Central Catholic’s Ryan Czarnecki.

Heroth went 7-2 on the mound this season for the Hilltoppers with a 0.81 earned run average, 80 strikeouts and 18 walks.

At the plate, Heroth hit .278 with 17 RBIs and two doubles.

Fort Plain catcher Drew Fureno and infielder Kiernan Briggs also were named to the North Division all-star team.

Fureno finished with a .460 average, eight RBIs and two doubles, while Briggs posted a .308 average, 12 RBIs, three doubles and two triples.

The Hilltoppers finished the season with a 14-3 overall record.

Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville, which went 14-7 overall and won the Section II Class D title, had pitcher Brad Smith, designated hitter Dylan Klock, outfielder John Vicciarelli and outfielder Nate Trumble named to the WAC North Division all-star team.

Mayfield, which went 3-15 overall, had infielder Jordan VanNostrand and outfielder Buck Anderson named to the North Division all-star team, while Canajoharie, which went 7-9 overall, had outfielder Buck Anderson, pitcher Joe Winsman and outfielder Jace Fox honored.

In addition to Czarnecki, Saratoga Catholic had pitcher Joe Schmidt, infielder Zac Cronk, pitcher Jake Moline, infielder Tim Brizzell and outfielder Owen O’Reilly named to the WAC North all-star team.

Galway had Zac Hartman (utility), Taylor Hartman (infielder), Ben Manna (infielder) and Sam Uline (infielder) named to the all-star team.

In the South Division, Mekeel Christian Academy’s Tyler Guido was named the Most Valuable Player.

Mekeel Christian also had designated hitter Daniel Gregory, utility player Jeremy Howard, infielder Rhein Zeronda and outfielder Scotty Voelker named to the South Division all-star team.

Schoharie pitcher Connor Brown, infielder Richie Martino, and outfielders Steve Brooks, Braden Guernsey, Devon Brooks and Noah Valvo were named WAC South all-stars.

Rounding out the South Division all-star team were Duanesburg’s Gabe Gentile (pitcher) and Drew Rice (infielder); Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Maclin Norray (infielder) and Taylor O’Connor (infielder); and Middleburgh’s Asa Snyder (infielder).

2014 Western Athletic Conference Baseball All-Stars

North Division

Co-MVP: Ryan Czarnecki (Saratoga Catholic), Jesse Heroth (Fort Plain)

Utility: Zac Hartman (Galway)

Designated Hitter: Dylan Klock (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville)

Catcher: Drew Fureno (Fort Plain)

Pitchers: Brad Smith (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Joe Winsman (Canajoharie), Joe Schmidt (Saratoga Catholic), Jake Moline (Saratoga Catholic)

Infielders: Sam Uline (Galway), Zac Cronk (Saratoga Catholic), Taylor Hartman (Galway), Ben Manna (Galway), Tim Brizzell (Saratoga Catholic), Kiernan Briggs (Fort Plain), Jordan VanNostrand (Mayfield)

Outfielders: Buck Anderson (Canajoharie), Bobby Gates (Mayfield), Owen O’Reilly (Saratoga Catholic), John Viccarelli (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Jace Fox (Canajoharie), Nate Trumble (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville)

South Division

MVP: Tyler Guido (Mekeel Christian Academy)

Utility: Jeremy Howard (Mekeel Christian Academy)

Designated Hitter: Daniel Gregory (Mekeel Christian Academy)

Pitchers: Connor Brown (Schoharie), Gabe Gentile (Duanesburg)

Infielders: Maclin Norray (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Taylor O’Connor (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Richie Martino (Schoharie), Drew Rice (Duanesburg), Rhein Zeronda (Mekeel Christian Academy), Asa Snyder (Middleburgh)

Outfielders: Steve Brooks (Schoharie), Braden Guernsey (Schoharie), Devon Brooks (Schoharie), Noah Valvo (Schoharie), Scotty Voelker (Mekeel Christian Academy)