FMCC hosts annual Raiders Athletic Awards Banquet

JOHNSTOWN – Fulton-Montgomery Community College recently hosted its Annual Raiders Athletic Awards Banquet.

Most Valuable Player awards went to Monae Abrams (women’s basketball), Hanna Cromie (women’s soccer). Caitlyn Hayward (volleyball), Kadeem Stanislas (men’s basketball), Greg Ruddy (baseball) and Austin Lee (men’s soccer).

Earning coach’s awards were Kassandra Flowers (women’s basketball), Sherice Gayle (women’s basketball), Cori Manson (softball), Alyssa Palmateer (softball), Cari Cestone (women’s soccer), Emily Robinson (volleyball), Khaleeq Baum (men’s basketball), Cullen Beauregard (baseball) and Andrew Beckham (men’s soccer).

Kathryn Oeser (softball), Maris Plank (women’s soccer), Sarah Wyzomirski (volleyball), Kenny Barr (men’s basketball), James Holmes (baseball) and Hassballah Yaya (men’s soccer) all earned most improved awards.

Abrams was presented with Female Athlete of the Year, while Ruddy was named Male Athlete of the Year.

Robinson was presented with Female Academic Athlete of the Year and Beauregard was chosen as Male Academic Athlete of the Year.

Abrams was named a third-team National Junior College Athletic Association All-American in women’s basketball. She also was named a first-team Region III all-star and the Player of the Year and a first-team all-star in the Mountain Valley Conference.

Flowers was named a first-team Region III all-star in women’s basketball and a first-team Mountain Valley Conference all-star.

Whitney Ostrander was named a first-team Mountain Valley Conference all-star in volleyball, while Stephanie Rice was named a second-team Mountain Valley Conference all-star in women’s basketball.

The following athletes were inducted into the Raider 3.0 Club, which includes student-athletes who earned a 3.0 GPA or higher: Jason Agresta, Cullen Beauregard, Amanda Bieniek, Hannah Cromie, Joe Deso, Marquis Edwards, Sherice Gayle, Gabriella Hale, Kohei Harada, Caitlyn Hayward, Elizabeth Hayward, James Holmes, Andrew Houser Austin Lee, Sissina Maccharelli, Kristjan Maksuti, Cori Manson Dakota Mereness, Charlene Moreira, Allison Ostrander, Whitney Ostrander, Anthony Payne, Angelica Perez, Erica Redwood, Rebekah Reichard, Emily Robinson, Jason Roth, Greg Ruddy, Chance Steele, Alex Vickery, Carly Washburn and Cassidy Washburn.

FMCC women’s basketball coach and Athletic Director Kevin Jones was named the Mountain Valley Conference Coach of the Year after the Lady Raiders went 21-5 last season.

“I commend and congratulate all of our players, our coaches and our supportive administration for another outstanding athletic year,” Jones said in a news release.