Friesen prevails at Fonda

FONDA – Two-time defending modified track champion Stewart Friesen picked up the win in the 30-lap modified feature Saturday at Fonda Speedway.

It was the second win of the season for Friesen.

Friesen, who now has 22 career wins at Fonda, outran Bobby Varin to the line to claim the win. Brian Gleason was third, Elmo Reckner was fourth and Darwin Greene was fifth. Completing the top 10 were A.J. Romano, Jeremy Wilder, Josh Hohenforst, C.G. Morey and Pep Corradi.

Other winners included Josh Pieniazek (CRSA sprints), John McAuliffe (602 sportsman), Luke Horning (pro stock), Neil Cosselman (street stock) and Ken Hollenbeck (4-cylinders).

After getting rained out April 26, the Capital Region Sprint Agency was on the card Saturday at Fonda.

Josh Pieniazek picked up the win over Joe Kata, Cory Sparks, Billy Jaycox and Jordan Thomas.

McAuliffe became the fourth different winner in as many races in the 602 sportsman division.

McAuliffe picked up his first win of the season and fifth career victory over Ricky Quick, Luke Munroe, Mark Mortensen and Mike Ketchum. Completing the top 10 were Connor Cleveland, Blake Schwarting, Cody Clark, Tony Farone and Dan Santabarbara.

In the pro stock division, Luke Horning survived a late caution to hold off two-time defending track champion Pete Broderson, Nick Stone, Chuck Dumblewski and Ivan Joslin. Completing the top 10 were Walt Brownell, Mark Sullivan, Kenny Gates, A.J. Walters and Jeff McPhail.

It was Horning’s first win of the season and second career victory.

In the street stock division, Cosselman picked up his first win of the season, crossing the finish line in front of John Bradt, Cliff Haslun, John Young and Jerry Cohn. It was Cosselman’s second career street stock victory.

Ken Hollenbeck continued his dominance in the 4-cylinder division, winning for the fourth time in as many races this season. It was the 26th career win in the 4-cylinder class for Hollenbeck, who won 14 of 15 races last season, on his way to his second straight track title.

Keith Tesiero Sr. was second, Kerrie Hollenbeck was third and Keith Tesiero Jr. was fourth.