Four local players earn state honors

Four local high school basketball players earned all-state honors in the 2013-14 season.

Fonda-Fultonville senior Will Turner, Broadalbin-Perth senior Andre Taylor, Gloversville senior Asa Barnhill and Canajoharie senior Dillan Veeder received all-state recognition.

Turner, a 6-7 center, was selected to the Class B eighth team, while Taylor, a 6-1 guard, was selected to the Class B 11th team.

Barnhill, a 6-0 guard, received honorable-mention status on the Class A team and Veeder received honorable mention in Class C.

Foothills Council MVP Joe Cremo from Scotia-Glenville was selected the New York State Class A Player of the Year after leading the Tartans to an undefeated season and the New York State Public High School Athletic Association and Federation Class A championships.

Cremo was joined on the state team by teammates Alex Sausville (Jr./seventh team), Dom LaMorta (Sr./honorable mention) and Scott Stopera (Jr./honorable mention).

Also selected from the Foothills Council was Queensbury’s Keaghan O’Leary (Jr./honorable mention).


Jamil Hood Jr., Green Tech, 12, 6-2, 16.7 (third team); Anthony Mack, Catholic Central, 10, 6-5, 21.9 (fifth); Greig Stire, CBA, 12, 6-7, 18.9 (seventh); Jahlil Nails, Columbia, 11, 6-4, 24.9 (eighth); Ramion Burt, Green Tech, 12, 6-5, 11.9 (ninth). Monorable mention: Noah Arciero, Saratoga Springs; Kevin Huerter, Shenendehowa; Andrew Platek, Guilderland.


Joe Cremo, Scotia-Glenville, 11, 6-4, 24.8 (Player of the Year); Dyaire Holt, Troy, 10, 6-0, 19.5 (second); Alex Sausville, Scotia-Glenville, 12, 6-1, 16.2 (seventh). Honorable mention: Asa Barnhill, Gloversville; Dom LeMorta, Scotia-Glenville; Austin Nydegger, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake; Keeghan O’Leary, Queensbury; Zach Radz, Troy; Scott Stopera, Scotia-Glenville.


Brandon LaForest, Cohoes, 11, 6-0, 20.3 (fifth); Will Turner, Fonda-Fultonville, 12, 6-7, 18-2 (eighth); Noah Crawford, Voorheesville, 12, 5-10, 17.7 (ninth); Andre Taylor, Broadalbin-Perth, 12, 6-1, 17.5 (11th); Andrew Hoag, Hoosick Falls, 11, 5-10, 10.3 (12th). Honorable mention: Brenner Bachman, Greenville; Ty’Jon Gilmore, Watervliet; Daniel Green, Catskill; Logan Hotaling, Voorheesville; Logan Polsinello, Mechanicville; Mano Senthil, Mekeel Christian; David Warnken, Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk.


John Rooney, Hoosic Valley, 11, 6-4, 20.2 (Player of the Year); Mike Pierre, Hoosic Valley, 12, 6-1, 22.5 (first); Joel Wincowski, Lake George, 11, 6-2, 28.8 (first); Justin Carruthers, Greenwich, 11, 6-7, 17.0 (sixth). Honorable mention: Michael Naughton, Saratoga Catholic; Evan Pescetti, Saratoga Catholic; Luke Spicer, Saratoga Catholic; Dillan Veeder, Canajoharie.


Tad Jones, Hartford, 12, 6-4, 26.4 (first); Derek Durkee, Fort Ann, 12, 6-2, 22.2 (second); Nick Sapienza, North Warren, 11, 6-0, 19.0 (fourth); Brooke Liddle, Argyle, 12, 5-9, 11.8 (fifth). Honorable mention: Tyler Fuchs, Germantown; Shea Irish, Warrensburg; Kobe Lufkin, Argyle; Del Pryce, Argyle.