Friesen picks up win at Fonda Speedway

FONDA – After a rare DNF on opening night, Stewart Friesen found himself back in a familiar place – Victory Lane at Fonda Speedway.

The two-time defending modified track champion came from mid-pack to wrestle the lead away from Josh Hohenforst with nine laps remaining, and pulled away for the modified feature win.

Joining Friesen with feature wins Saturday night were David Constantino (602 sportsman), Ivan Joslin (pro stock), John Bradt (street stock) and Ken Hollenbeck (4-cylinder).

Craig Hanson and Hohenforst brought the field of 22 modifieds to the green, with Hohenforst and Justin Boehler locking into battle for the early lead.

Hohenforst took command and maintained a comfortable margin over Boehler, with Pep Corradi and Ronnie Johnson battling for the third spot and Friesen lurking just outside the top five.

Boeher challenged Hohenforst on lap eight and crossed the finish line side-by-side, but Hohenforst maintained his lead through turns one and two.

While Hohenforst and Boehler battled on the front end, Johnson and Friesen were locked in a tight battle for the third spot.

Frisen found a line under Johnson exiting turn two on lap 14, and quickly cut into the half straightaway lead built up by Hohenforst and Boehler.

The defending track champion moved past Boehler on lap 17, but Hohenforst was able to turn back Friesen’s challenges until lap 21.

Friesen dove to the bottom of turn one and got a wheel under Hohenforst, and found enough bite in the track to pull ahead exiting turn two.

Traffic came into play bogging the leader down, but it also slowed up Hohenforst, allowing Boehler and Johnson to pull up to his back bumper, making a three-way battle for the runner-up spot.

Friesen hit the checkers more than six seconds in front, while Hohenforst, Boehler and Johnson finished less than a second apart for second, third and fourth respectively, and Jimmy Davis got up for fifth.

Corradi, Bobby Varin, A.J. Romano, Elmo Reckner and Danny Varin round out the top 10.

Chip Constantino took command of the early pace in the 20-lap 602 sportsman feature, and had pulled away to a straightaway advantage over Ray Zemken when contact with a lapped car send Constantino spinning onto the infield on lap 13.

Zemken inherited the lead with Brian Pessolano second, David Constantino third, Luke Munroe fourth and Rocky Warner fifth.

Zemken held the lead but was soon challenged by Constantino. The duo crossed the line in a dead heat on lap 17, with Constantino taking charge between turns one and two.

Zemken made a strong bid for the lead on lap 19 but spun, collecting Pessolano and opening night feature winner Cody Clark.

Munroe and Warner took up the challenge of chasing Constantino and would get one more shot at the leader as the caution flew on lap 19, setting up a one-lap shootout.

Constantino pulled away on the restart, leaving Munroe and Warner to battle for second.

Warner made a strong move out the outside between turns three and four to complete the pass and finish second for the second straight week. Munroe was third, followed by Jeremiah Munson and Connor Cleveland.

Adam McAuliffe, Ricky Quick, John McAuliffe, Tony Farone and Jason Greco round out the second five.

Walt Brownell held the early lead in the 20-lap pro stock main before Joslin found a way past on lap seven.

Kenny Gates worked his way into second on lap 13 but got pinned behind a lapped car, allowing Brownell and Nick Stone to slip by before he could break free.

Stone got past Brownell with three laps remaining, but ran out of time as the checkers fell over Joslin’s hood.

Brownell finshed third, while Gates was fourth and Pete Broderson finished fifth.

Bradt used the high side of the speedway to gain the advantage early in the street stock feature and pulled away for his second straight feature win.

Hollenbeck kept his win streak alive in the 4-cylinder division by turning back challenges from Shane Playford to get the win.

Fonda Speedway returns to action Saturday night with the CRSA sprint cars joining the evening’s race program instead of the 4-cylinders.