Mayor fills committee positions

JOHNSTOWN – Mayor Michael Julius made several appointments and issued a proclamation at the Common Council meeting Monday night at City Hall.

Julius appointed the following people to the city’s Committee for Promoting Tourism, effective immediately: Helen Martin, Leslie Foss, Noel Levee, Scott Jeffers, Wade Wells, Bernadette Weaver, Cathy VanAlstyne, Chandra Cotter, Linda Hinkle and Robert Kosowicz.

The mayor also appointed the following people to the city Parade Committee, effective immediately: Michael Gifford, Bruce Heberer, Joseph Salamack, Peter O’Lucci, VanAlstyne and Garth Hillier.

In another personnel matter, the council appointed Tom Roehl of 104 Whitmore Ave. to the Johnstown Library Board of Trustees, with a term to expire June 30, 2015.

Julius issued a proclamation that named last Tuesday as Equal Pay Day in the city. In the proclamation, he urged city residents to “recognize the full value of women’s skills and significant contributions to the labor force.” The proclamation notes that according to a 2012 American Association of University Women study, college-educated women working full-time over the course of a lifetime earn more than half a million dollars less than their male peers.

The mayor also announced upcoming events that included: City Hall being closed at noon Friday, which is Good Friday; and a city Easter Egg Hunt on Saturday in the Main Street Park.