Amsterdam’s Santos named first-team Section II all-star

Amsterdam’s Kristian Santos was the lone area selection on the Section II boys swimming and diving all-star team.

Santos was named a first-team all-star.

Santos, a senior, finished seventh at the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Boys Swimming and Diving Championships at Webster Schroeder High School.

Santos finished with a total of 462.75 points in the 1-meter diving competition. He placed 19th last season.

Santos also won the Section II Division II (small-school) title this season, finishing with 507.45 points.

Shenendehowa’s Ryan Gordon was named the Section II Athlete of the Year and a first-team all-star.

Also named to the first team were Bethlehem’s Gunnar Zemering, Shaker’s Will Matz, Bethlehem’s Alex Taber, Queensbury’s Matt Walton, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake’s Brandon Beaudoin, Shenendehowa’s Mike Conley and Queensbury’s Benjamin Rowley.

Glens Falls had Garret Frandsen, David Mauro and Cooper Knapp named to the second team.

Also named second-team all-stars were Shenendehowa’s Ian Killane, Niskayuna’s Aiden Strayer, Shaker’s Nikos Moisidis, Shenendehowa’s Luke Gordon, Schenectady’s Calvin Cleworth and Shenendehowa’s Eric Burdge.

Shenendehowa’s Chuck Dunham was named the Section II Division I Coach of the Year, while Glens Falls’ Kevin Crossman was named the Section II Division II Coach of the Year.

2013-14 Section II Boys Swimming & Diving All-Stars

Section II Athlete of the Year: Ryan Gordon (Shenendehowa)

First Team

Ryan Gordon (Shenendehowa), Gunnar Zemering (Bethlehem), Will Matz (Shaker), Alex Taber (Bethlehem), Matt Walton (Queensbury), Brandon Beaudoin (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Mike Conley (Shenendehowa), Kristian Santos (Amsterdam), Benjamin Rowley (Queensbury)

Second Team

Aiden Strayer (Niskayuna), Nikos Moisidis (Shaker), Luke Gordon (Shenendehowa), Garrett Frandsen (Glens Falls), Ian Killane (Shenendehowa), David Mauro (Glens Falls), Calvin Cleworth (Schenectady), Eric Burdge (Shenendehowa), Cooper Knapp (Glens Falls)

Division I Coach of the Year: Chuck Dunham (Shenendehowa)

Division II Coach of the Year: Kevin Crossman (Glens Falls)