Shaw named Colonial Council all-star

Zak Shaw was the lone Fonda-Fultonville wrestler honored on the recently announced Colonial Council wrestling all-star team.

Shaw was named to the second team at 182 pounds.

Shaw finished third in the Section II Division II (small-school) tournament, ending his senior season with a 31-2 overall record. Shaw also finished second at the Section II Class C tourney.

Albany Academy placed five wrestlers on the first team. Matt Morris (120 pounds), Zach Zebrowski (132), Sam DeLarge (138), Zeke Thomas (145) and Cam Milliken (152) all were first-team selections for the Cadets.

Schalmont had Nick Gallo (182), Tim Flower (195) and Marcus Ramundo (285) named first-team all-stars, while Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk’s Ryan Allman (99), Mike Parker (160) and Logan Kunkle (220) also earned first-team status.

Rounding out the first-team all-stars were Lansingburgh’s Arsilan Zahid (106), Lansingburgh’s Luke Pondillo (113), Cobleskill-Richmondville’s Brandon Merchant (126), Mechanicville’s Chris Kawola (170) and Cohoes’ Nick Scott (285).

Cobleskill-Richmondville had Dan Hotaling (99), Lance Pleickhardt (106), Devon Lampron (113), Devin Cooper (132), A.J. Fletcher (138), Taylor Epting (145) and Zac Cooper (152) named second-team all-stars.

Rounding out the second team were Lansingburgh’s Nick Cioffi (120), Albany Academy’s Kyle Jasenski (126), Lansingburgh’s Keivon Wood (160), Watervliet’s Paul Gordon (170), Ichabod Crane’s Justin Brown (195) and Mechanicville’s Brandon Farrell (220).

2013-14 Colonial Council Wrestling All-Stars

First Team

99: Ryan Allman (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk)

106: Arsilan Zahid (Lansingburgh)

113: Luke Pondillo (Lansingburgh)

120: Matt Morris (Albany Academy)

126: Brandon Merchant (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

132: Zach Zebrowski (Albany Academy)

138: Sam DeLarge (Albany Academy)

145: Zeke Thomas (Albany Academy)

152: Cam Milliken (Albany Academy)

160: Mike Parker (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk)

170: Chris Kawola (Mechanicville)

182: Nick Gallo (Schalmont)

195: Tim Flower (Schalmont)

220: Logan Kunkle (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk)

285: Marcus Ramundo (Schalmont), Nick Scott (Cohoes)

Second Team

99: Dan Hotaling (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

106: Lance Pleickhardt (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

113: Devon Lampron (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

120: Nick Cioffi (Lansingburgh)

126: Kyle Jasenski (Albany Academy)

132: Devin Cooper (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

138: A.J. Fletcher (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

145: Taylor Epting (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

152: Zac Cooper (Cobleskill-Richmondville)

160: Keivon Wood (Lansingburgh)

170: Paul Gordon (Watervliet)

182: Zak Shaw (Fonda-Fultonville)

195: Justin Brown (Ichabod Crane)

220: Brandon Farrell (Mechanicville)