Wells players earn NBL honors

Two Wells players were among those honored on the recently announced boys and girls Northern Basketball League Division III all-star teams.

Ben Brenan was named a boys first-team all-star, while Kaeli Brenan was named honorable mention for the girls.

The Wells boys finished with a 5-9 overall record, while the girls posted a 1-13 mark this season.

Schroon Lake’s Tanner Stone and Indian Lake-Long Lake’s Henry Sandiford shared the Most Valuable Player award.

Keene’s Austin Brown and Colton Venner were named to the first team, along with Indian Lake-Long Lake’s Curtis Seaman and Schroon Lake’s Alex Shaughnessy.

The Division III second team included Keene’s Gabe Warner, Johnsburg’s Austin Washburn, Crown Point’s Jaice Spring, Crown Point’s Noah Macey and Schroon Lake’s Caleb Maisonville.

Rounding out the boys all-star team were honorable mention selections Johnsburg’s Ty Berg, Keene’s Brandon Dumas, Indian Lake-Long Lake’s Rudy Giessen and Schroon Lake’s Joe Maisonville.

Keene’s Chad Lopez was named boys Coach of the Year in Division III, while Keene also claimed the Sportsmanship Award.

Crown Point’s Amanda Wolf was named the girls Division III Most Valuable Player.

Keene’s Hannah Whitney and Tucker Geiger were named first-team all-stars.

Also named to the girls first team were Minerva-Newcomb’s Makenzie Winslow, Indian Lake-Long Lake’s Shannon Farrell and Minerva-Newcomb’s Astasia Myler.

The girls Division III second team included Minerva-Newcomb’s Gabrielle McNally, Keene’s Naomi Peduzzi, Schroon Lake’s Julianna Finnerty, Keene’s Elaina Smith and Indian Lake-Long Lake’s Ranya Hamdan.

In addition to Wells’ Kaeli Brenan, Crown Point’s Brittany Foote, Indian Lake-Long Lake’s Lily Dechene, Johnsburg’s Makayla Denno, Keene’s Taylor Geiger, Minerva-Newcomb’s Maddy Miller and Schroon Lake’s Molly Wisser were named honorable mention.

Minerva-Newcomb’s Bruce McGinn was named the girls Division III Coach of the Year, while Schroon Lake earned the Sportsmanship Award.

2013-14 Northern Basketball League All-Stars


Co-MVPs: Tanner Stone (Schroon Lake), Henry Sandiford (Indian Lake-Long Lake)

First Team

Ben Brenan (Wells), Austin Brown (Keene), Curtis Seaman (Indian Lake-Long Lake), Alex Shaughnessy (Schroon Lake), Colton Venner (Keene)

Second Team

Gabe Warner (Keene), Austin Washburn (Johnsburg), Jaice Spring (Crown Point), Noah Macey (Crown Point), Caleb Maisonville (Schroon Lake)

Honorable Mention

Ty Berg (Johnsburg), Brandon Dumas (Keene), Rudy Giessen (Indian Lake-Long Lake), Joe Maisonville (Schroon Lake)

Coach of the Year: Chad Lopez (Keene)

Sportsmanship: Keene


MVP: Amanda Wolf (Crown Point)

First Team

Shannon Farrell (Indian Lake-Long Lake), Hannah Whitney (Keene), Tucker Geiger (Keene), Makenzie Winslow (Minerva-Newcomb), Astasia Myler (Minerva-Newcomb)

Second Team

Gabrielle McNally (Minerva-Newcomb), Naomi Peduzzi (Keene), Julianna Finnerty (Schroon Lake), Elaina Smith (Keene), Ranya Hamdan (Indian Lake-Long Lake)

Honorable Mention

Brittany Foote (Crown Point), Lily Dechene (Indian Lake-Long Lake), Makayla Denno (Johnsburg), Taylor Geiger (Keene), Maddy Miller (Minerva-Newcomb), Molly Wisser (Schroon Lake), Kaeli Brenan (Wells)

Coach of the Year: Bruce McGinn (Minerva-Newcomb)

Sportsmanship: Schroon Lake