C-FP wrestlers named WAC all-stars

Several Canajoharie-Fort Plain wrestlers were among those selected for the recently announced Western Athletic Conference all-star team.

Jon Payack (106 pounds), Troy DeBlock (132), Gordon Trahan (138), Jordan Griswold (170), Ken Holland (195) and Gene Ryan (220) were named first-team all-stars for Canajoharie-Fort Plain.

Payack finished second at the Section II Division II tournament. Payack, a freshman, posted a 30-7 overall record this season.

Trahan was fourth at the Division II tourney and was 33-7 this season. DeBlock was fifth at the Division II tournament and posted a 30-5 record this season.

Ryan was second for Canajoharie-Fort Plain at the Section II Division II Class 3 Tournament, while Ken Holland (195) was fifth.

Duanesburg’s Connor Lawrence was named the league’s MVP and a first-team all-star.

Duanesburg also had Zack Lawrence (99), Devin VanVlack (113), Shane Barberis (113), Andy Mollevik (152), Jason St. John (182) and Jake Karandy (285) named to the first team.

Also named to the first team were Galway’s Jordan Sartin (120), Galway’s Dean Poulin (126) and Steve Culbert (145),

In addition to its six first-team selections, Canajoharie-Fort Plain also had Anthony Brock (145) and Trent DeBlock (285) named second-team all-stars.

Brock (145) and Trent DeBlock (285) each finished sixth at the Section II Division II Class 3 Tournament.

Galway had Dillon Palaszewski (99), Jonathan Hoyt (113), Nick Horvath (138), Andrew Gilchrist (182) and Seth Carter (195) named second-team all-stars.

Also named to the second team were Duanesburg’s Brendan VanVlack (106), Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Brad Abelman (106), Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Kai Fisher (120), Schoharie’s Jessie Lynch (126), Duanesburg’s Mike Sarbo (132), Schoharie’s Alexis Bleau (152), Schoharie’s Zach Thorington (170), Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Sam Gerardi (182), Schoharie’s Christopher DellaRocco (182) and Schoharie’s Brendan Dalton (195).

2013-14 Western Athletic Conference

Wrestling All-Stars

MVP: Connor Lawrence (Duanesburg)

First Team

99: Zack Lawrence (Duanesburg)

106: Jon Payack (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

113: Devin VanVlack (Duanesburg), Shane Barberis (Duanesburg)

120: Jordan Sartin (Galway)

126: Dean Poulin (Galway)

132: Troy DeBlock (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

138: Gordon Trahan (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

145: Steve Culbert (Galway)

152: Andy Mollevik (Duanesburg)

160: Connor Lawrence (Duanesburg)

170: Jordan Griswold (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

182: Jason St. John (Duanesburg)

195: Ken Holland (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

220: Gene Ryan (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

285: Jake Karandy (Duanesburg)

Second Team

99: Dillon Palaszewski (Galway)

106: Brendan Van Vlack (Duanesburg), Brad Abelman (Berne -Knox -Westerlo)

113: Jonathan Hoyt (Galway)

120: Kai Fisher (Berne -Knox -Westerlo)

126: Jessie Lynch (Schoharie)

132: Mike Sarbo (Duanesburg)

138: Nick Horvath (Galway)

145: Anthony Brock (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

152: Alexis Bleau (Schoharie)

170: Zach Thorington (Schoharie)

182: Christopher DellaRocco (Schoharie), Andrew Gilchrist (Galway), Sam Gerardi (Berne -Knox -Westerlo)

195: Brendan Dalton (Schoharie), Seth Carter (Galway)

220: Gene Ryan (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

285: Trent DeBlock (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)