Veeder named WAC North MVP

By The Leader-Herald

Several area players were among those honored on the recently announced 2013-14 Western Athletic Conference boys basketball all-star team.

Canajoharie’s Dillan Veeder was named the North Division’s Most Valuable Player. Veeder and the Cougars finished the season 12-8 after losing to eventual champion Hoosic Valley in the Section II Class C quarterfinals.

Canajoharie’s Josh Conzalez and Fort Plain’s Aiden Van Loan were named first-team North Division all-stars.

Fort Plain went 10-9 overall this season, losing to Greenwich in the first round of the Section II Class C tournament.

Saratoga Catholic, which won the North Division title with a perfect 10-0 record, had three players named first-team North Division all-stars. Evan Pescetti, Luke Spicer and Michael Naughton all earned first-team honors for the Saints.

Five area players were named second-team North Division all-stars.

Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville’s Dylan Klock and Johnny Vicciarelli, Northville’s Kalob Russell and Danny Reidell, and Fort Plain’s Jon Calbet all earned second-team honors.

Reidell averaged 11.5 points per game for the Falcons, while Russell averaged 11 points per game. Northville finished the season 8-12 overall after losing to eventual champion Argyle in the quarterfinals of the Section II Class D tournament.

Klock and Vicciarelli led Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville to a 10-10 overall record. The Wolfpack reached the quarterfinals of the Section II Class D tournament before losing to Hartford.

In the South Division, Mekeel Christian’s Mano Senthil was named Most Valuable Player.

Mike Mann was named a first-team all-star for Mekeel Christian, which won the WAC Cup title this season. Herbie Sexton and Marquan Newman were named second-team all-stars for the Lions.

Also named to the first team were Duanesburg’s Kevin Lenehan, Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Maclin Norray, Schoharie’s Conner Brown and Middleburgh’s Troy Hinckley.

Rounding out the second team were Schoharie’s James Sacket, Duanesburg’s Chris Smalls and Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Zack Hilton.

2013-14 Western Athletic Conference Boys Basketball All-Stars

North Division

MVP: Dillan Veeder (Canajoharie)

First Team

Evan Pescetti (Saratoga Catholic), Luke Spicer (Saratoga Catholic), Michael Naughton (Saratoga Catholic), Josh Gonzalez, Canajoharie, Aiden Van Loan (Fort Plain)

Second Team

Dylan Klock (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Johnny Vicciarelli (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Kalob Russell (Northville), Danny Reidell (Northville), Jon Calbet (Fort Plain)

South Division

MVP: Mano Senthil (Mekeel Christian)

First Team

Kevin Lenehan (Duanesburg), Maclin Norray (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Mike Mann (Mekeel Christian), Conner Brown (Schoharie), Troy Hinckley (Middleburgh)

Second Team

James Sacket (Schoharie), Chris Smalls (Duanesburg), Marquan Newman (Mekeel Christian), Herbie Sexton (Mekeel Christian), Zack Hilton (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)