Area players named Foothills all-stars

Several area boys basketball players were among those honored on the recently announced Foothills Council all-star team.

A total of eight players from Broadalbin-Perth, Johnstown and Glovers-ville were named Foothills all-stars.

Gloversville’s Asa Barnhill and Broadalbin-Perth’s Andre Taylor were named to the first team.

Barnhill averaged 18.8 points per game for the Dragons, who went 15-5 overall. Gloversville had its season end with a loss to Troy in the Section II Class A semifinals.

Taylor averaged 17.5 points per game for the Patriots, who advanced to the Section II Class B title game before losing to Voorheesville. B-P finished the season with a 16-6 overall record.

In addition to Barnhill, Gloversville had three other players named Foothills Council all-stars.

Barceem Dukes, Keyshawn Arnold and Hunter Goodwin were honored for the Dragons.

Dukes averaged 11.1 points per game for Gloversville and was named a second-team all-star. Arnold averaged 13.8 points per game for the Dragons, while Goodwin averaged 8.5 points per game. Both Arnold and Goodwin were named third-team all-stars.

Broadalbin-Perth’s Ryan Dingman and Johnstown’s Austin Riska were named second-team all-stars.

Dingman averaged 13.6 points per game for the Patriots, while Riska led Johnstown with 14.1 points per game. The Sir Bills finished 9-10 overall, losing to Mechanicville in the first round of the Section II Class B playoffs.

Also named to the all-star team was Johnstown’s Jamal Vazquez, who earned third-team honors. Vazquez averaged 11.3 points per game for the Sir Bills this season.

Scotia-Glenville, which won the Foothills Council and Section II Class A titles, had five players selected as all-stars.

The Tartans’ Joe Cremo was named the league’s Most Valuable Player, while Alex Sauville and Scott Stopera were named to the first team. Mike Palleschi and Dom LeMorta were named second-team all-stars for Scotia-Glenville.

Also named to the first team was Queensbury’s Keeghan O’Leary, while South Glens Falls’ Travis Ramsey and Queensbury’s Adam Troelstra were named to the third team.

2013-14 Foothills Council Boys Basketball All-Stars

MVP: Joe Cremo (Scotia-Glenville)

First Team

Asa Barnhill (Gloversville), Alex Sausville (Scotia-Glenville), Keeghan O’Leary (Queensbury), Scott Stopera (Scotia-Glenville), Andre Taylor (Broadalbin-Perth)

Second Team

Mike Palleschi (Scotia-Glenville), Dom LeMorta (Scotia-Glenville), Barceem Dukes (Gloversville), Austin Riska (Johnstown), Ryan Dingman (Broadalbin-Perth)

Third Team

Keyshawn Arnold (Gloversville), Travis Ramsey (South Glens Falls), Hunter Goodwin (Gloversville), Jamal Vazquez (Johnstown), Adam Troelstra (Queensbury)