Voorheesville rolls past Broadalbin-Perth, 61-37

GLENS FALLS – The Broadalbin-Perth Patriots could not shake off a slow start in the championship game of the Section II Class B boys basketball tournament Saturday at the Glens Falls Civic Center.

Both teams missed early opportunities but top-seeded Voorheesville found its offensive rhythm first, going on an 11-0 first-quarter run which they built into a 61-37 victory to win its first title since 2005.

“I don’t know, we couldn’t score,” Broadalbin-Perth coach Tucker Gifford said. “It wasn’t like we didn’t get shots. We got shots, not all of them were the best of shots, but we just couldn’t put the ball in the basket. It was everything from chippies to long range. Shots that normally drop for us, just didn’t. On the flip side, they [Voorheesville] were unconscious in the first half and did not miss. I give them credit. They stepped up and made shots on big saves. We just couldn’t answer.”

Voorheesville (21-1), a winner of 20-straight games after a season-opening loss to Watervliet, advances to play Section X champion Ogdensburg (21-1) in the regional semifinals at 7 p.m. at Saratoga Springs High School.

Joseph Vogel broke a stretch of early missed opportunities with a three-point play for Voorheesville 1:13 into the game.

The Patriots broke the ice with 4:28 left in the opening quarter when Andre Taylor finished a drive to the hoop.

The Blackbirds answered with Noah Crawford putting back an offensive rebound and stealing the ball, which he fed forward to Michael Hennessy for a layup.

Broadalbin-Perth’s offensive schemes created opportunities for its shooters, but unfriendly bounces off the rim and a strong Voorheesville inside presence allowed the Blackbirds to break away to a 13-4 advantage.

The shots began falling for BP in the second period as Ryan Dingman hit a pair of 3-pointers and Robbie VanBrocklin hit one to help put 15 points in the book. However, Dylan Hensel hit a pair of 3-pointers and converted from the foul line after being fouled while shooting behind the arc, to help Voorheesville carry a 34-19 advantage into the locker room at the half.

“The second quarter was much better than the first. but everytime we got a basket, they answered,” Gifford said. “We couldn’t put enough runs with stops together to keep it close. Then the second half we had to come out of our zone and play some man and try to make it a 94-foot game. Unfortunately, it didn’t change things. We still couldn’t put the ball in the basket.”

The Patriots put together a run early in the third quarter to trim the Blackbirds’ lead, which they built to 20, down to 15, 40-25.

Voorheesville recovered to close out the period on a 5-2 run to take a 45-27 lead into the final period.

The Patriots could not make up any ground on the Blackbirds in the final eight minutes as Voorheesville closed out the 61-37 victory.

Andre Taylor led Broadalbin-Perth with nine points, seven rebounds, three steals and two assists. Dingman added eight points, while Chris Natoli chipped in with nine rebounds and six points.

The Patriots shot 25 percent from the field, hitting 13 of 52 attempts, and were 9 for 23 from the free-throw line.

Hensel connected for four 3-pointers en route to his game-high 20 points for Voorheesville. Crawford finished with 10 points, six rebounds and two steals, and Logan Hotaling chipped in with six rebounds, two assists and a steal.

The Blackbirds were 22 for 45 from the field and 12 for 17 from the free-throw line.

Crawford was selected the Class B tournament MVP. He was joined by Hotaling, Broadalbin-Perth’s Andre Taylor and Dingman, Hoosick Falls’ Andrew Hoag and Mechanicville’s Logan Polsinello on the Class B all-tournament team.

“We had a great run. We finished 16-6 and third in our league,” Gifford said. “I am happy with our season in the fact that we put ourselves in a position to win a championship. Unfortunately, it wasn’t the result we wanted. We have most everybody coming back and I hope they got a good taste of this. There are no guarantees that we will come back next year, but it is what they do with it from this point forward.”

Voorheesville 61, Broadalbin-Perth 37

Broadalbin-Perth4 15 8 10 – 37

Voorheesville13 21 11 16 – 61


Coveney 1-0-2, VanBrocklin 1-1-4, A. Taylor 3-3-9, P. Taylor 0-1-1, Hartz 2-0-5, Dingman 3-0-8, Newfrock 1-0-2, Natoli 1-4-6. Totals: 12-9-37.


Hansel 5-6-20, Hennessy 2-0-4, Parry 2-2-7, Crawford 4-2-10, Hotaling 2-0-4, Meaux 1-0-2, Minnick 2-0-4, Vogel 4-1-9. Totals: 22-12-61.

3-point goals: Broadalbin-Perth 4 (Dingman 2, VanBrocklin, Hartz); Voorheesville 5 (Hansel 4, Parry).

Class A

All-Tournament team

GLENS FALLS – Gloversville’s Asa Barnhill and Amsterdam’s Kory Bergh were selected to the Class A All-Tournament team.

They are joined by tournament MVP Joe Cremo of Scotia-Glenville as well as Scotia’s Dom Lamorta and Troy’s Zach Radz and Dyaire Holt.

Scotia-Glenville won its third-straight Class A championship Saturday with a 77-75 overtime victory over Troy.

Cremo finished the game with a triple-double of 26 points, 12 rebounds and 10 assists.