Amsterdam’s Santos earns return trip to state meet

CLIFTON PARK – Amsterdam diver Kristian Santos took top honors in the 1-meter diving at the Section II Division 2 swimming and diving championships at Shenendehowa High School.

Santos scored 507.45 points to win the title over Raislan Aiken of Glens Falls who scored 420.75 points.

Amsterdam’s Connor Liverio placed fourth in the event with 404.25 points, while Gloversville’s Austin Flynn was 10th, Nick Herrlett placed 11th and Matthew Smrtic was 13th. Fonda-Johnstown’s Daeshan Buseck placed 12th and Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Willie Parrino was 15th.

Fonda-Johnstown’s Tyler Askew turned in a third-place finish in the 500-yard freestyle with his time of 4:59.75 and placed fourth in the 100-yard butterfly final with his time of 54.56.

Trevor Askew placed fourth in the 100-yard breaststroke with his time of 1:05.37 and was sixth in the 200-yard individual medley with a time of 2:09.53.

Gloversville’s Matt Helou placed seventh in the 50-yard freestyle with a time of 24.02, while Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Bailey Smith was sixth in the 100-yard backstroke with a time of 1:00.22.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s 200-yard freestyle relay team of Joe Trembley, Jake Brody, Harrison Abrams and Bryn Clark placed sixth, while Gloversville’s team of Helou, Hunter Pieniazek, Anthony Oathout and Gage O’Brien was seventh and Fonda-Johnstown’s squad of Stephen Dunbar, Daeshan Buseck, Chris Dunbar and Cameron Roten was eighth.

The team of Tyler Askew, Trevor Askew, Buseck and Roten finished sixth in the 200-yard medley relay and seventh in the 400-yard freestyle relay.

Gloversville’s 400-yard relay team of O’Brien, Pieniazek, Oathout and Helou placed sixth, while Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Zephran Vosburgh, Smith, Meghan Cortright and Abrams was eighth.

Glens Falls won the Divison 2 championship with 458 points. Fonda-Johnstown was sixth with 142, while Gloversville edged Canajoharie-Fort Plain for seventh 117-116 and Amsterdam was 10th with 53.