Local swimmers advance to finals

CLIFTON PARK -Several local swimmers qualified for the A-finals during the preliminary round of the Section II Division 2 swimming and diving championships Saturday at Shenendehowa High School.

Fonda-Johnstown’s Tyler Askew topped his seeding time by 36 seconds to finish third in the 500-yard freestyle and qualify for the A-finals with his time of 5:03.59. He also qualified for the A-final in the 100-yard butterfly with a fourth place finish in 55.12.

FoJo’s Trevor Askew dropped his 200-yard individual medley time five seconds to qualify for the A-finals with a sixth place finish in 2:08.91. He also qualified for the A-finals in the 100-yard breaststroke with a sixth place finish in 1:05.85.

Gloversville’s Matt Helou reached the A-finals in the 50-yard freestyle with his time of 23.91 to finish seventh in the preliminary.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Bailey Smith qualified for the A-final with a sixth place finish in 1:00.92.

Fonda-Johnstown’s 200-yard medley relay team of Cameron Roten, Trevor Askew, Tyler Askew and Daeshan Buseck qualified for the A-finals with a fifth place finish in 1:51.12, while Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s team of Michael Fryer, Sam Datri, Jordan Harris and Anthony McElligot qualified seventh in 1:51.96.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s 200-yard freestyle team of Joe Trembley, Jake Brody, Harrison Abrams and Bryn Clark qualified for the A-final with a fifth place finish in 1:39.34. Gloversville’s team of Helou, Hunter Pieniazek, Steven Weil and Gage O’Brien qualified seventh in 1:40.13, while FoJo’s squad of Stephen Dunbar, Buseck, Chris Dunbar and Roten qualified eighth in 1:46.64.

Gloversville’s team of O’Brien, Anthony Oathout, Pieniazek and Helou qualified fifth in the 400-yard freestyle relay with a time of 3:42.07, while the team of Tyler Askew, Roten, Buseck and Trevor Askew qualified seventh for FoJo with a time of 3:48.46. Canajoharie-Fort Plains team of Zephran Vosburgh, Smith, Meghan Cortright and Harrison Abrams qualified eighth in 3:54.71.

Competition resumes today at the Shenendehowa High School pool with the swimming finals starting at 10 a.m.