Ahrens, Bogdan earn all-state cross-country honors

A pair of area runners were among those selected to the all-state boys cross country team.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain senior Jordan Ahrens and Broadalbin-Perth senior Greg Bogdan were both named to the third team in Class C.

Ahrens finished 15th at the state championship meet in Queensbury with a time of 16:20.7, while Bogdan was 16th with a time of 16:28.7.

Also named to the Class C all-state team were Corinth’s Tanner Flint (second team), Greenville’s Sean McAneny (third team) and Stillwater’s Ethan Jaynes (fourth team).

Fayetteville-Manlius’ Bryce Millar was named the Overall Runner of the Year, while Rush-Henrietta’s Mickey Burke was named Senior of the Year. Saratoga Springs’ Aidan Tooker was named Sophomore of the Year and West Genesee’s David Leff earned Freshman of the Year honors.

In Class AA, Tooker and Bethlehem’s Stephen Booker were named to the first team, while Columbia’s Kyle Gronostaj was named to the third team. Saratoga Springs also had Jay Navin (fourth team), Brent Freestone (fourth team), Joe Verro (fifth team) honored.

Also earning Class A all-state honors were Colonie’s Jake Johnson (fifth team) and Jordan Johnson (sixth team).

Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake’s John Rabideau was named second-team all-state in Class B.

Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake also had Jared Short (third team) and Patrick McGuinness (fifth team) named to the all-state team in Class.

Christian Brothers Academy’s Justin VanEpps (third team) and Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons Jonah Allard (fifth team) also earned Class B all-state honors.

In Class D, Greenwich’s Jeremy Spiezio, Argyle’s Daryn Hutchings and Maple Hill’s Jordan Healy were named first-team all-state.

Also earning all-state honors in Class D were Duanesburg’s Pat Murphy (second team), Greenwich’s Devlin Kennedy (third team) and Greenwich’s Colin Beasor (fourth team).


Corning’s Jessica Lawson was named Overall Runner of the Year, while Penfield’s Katie Lembo was named Senior of the Year. Fayetteville-Manlius’ Annika Avery (Junior of the Year), Warwick’s Megan Reilly (Sophomore of the Year), Corning’s Jessica Lawson (Freshman of the Year) and Saratoga Springs’ Samantha Vetter (Seventh- & Eighth-grader of the Year) also earned top honors.

In Class A, Saratoga Springs had Samantha Vetter named to the fourth team, while Spencer Hayes was named to the fifth team.

Peyton Engborg, Sarah Morin, Carly Vetter and Estela Smith were named honorable mention for the Blue Streaks.

Also named to the all-state team in Class A were Shenendehowa’s Danielle Jordan (fourth team) and Guilderland’s Emily Burns (fifth team). Colonie’s Bellane Bower Shaker’s Maryanna Lansing, Guilderland’s Jenna Robinson and Colonie’s Kathryn Tenney all earned honorable-mention status.

Queensbury placed four runners on the Class B all-state team. Emily Guinther (third team), Megan Kellogg (fourth team), Danielle Soprano (fifth team) and Sherri Metcalfe (sixth team) all were honored for the Spartans.

Also named to the all-state team in Class B were Holy Name’s Kaylee Scott (second team), Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake’s Emily Digman (sixth team) and Emma Willard’s Courtney Breiner (honorable mention).

Schalmont’s Julia Flower was named to the third team in Class C, while Hudson’s Alexandra Bartolotta and Schuylerville’s Ashley Watson were named to the fourth team.

In Class D, Greenwich had Tori Spiezio named to the first team, while Sarah Lapham was named to the second team.

Maple Hill’s Monica Strain earned honorable-mention status in Class D.

2013 NYSSWA All-State Boys Cross Country Team

Overall Runner of the Year: Bryce Millar (Fayetteville-Manlius)

Senior of the Year: Mickey Burke (Rush-Henrietta)

Junior of the Year: Bryce Millar (Fayetteville-Manlius)

Sophomore of the Year: Aidan Tooker (Saratoga Springs)

Freshman of the Year: David Leff (West Genesee)

Section II Selections

Class A

First Team: Aidan Tooker (Saratoga Springs), Stephen Booker (Bethlehem)

Third Team: Kyle Gronostaj (Columbia)

Fourth Team: Jay Navin (Saratoga Springs), Brent Freestone (Saratoga Springs)

Fifth Team: Joe Verro (Saratoga Springs), Jake Johnson (Colonie)

Sixth Team: Jordan Johnson (Colonie)

Class B

Second Team: John Rabideau (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake)

Third Team: Justin Van Epps (CBA), Jared Short (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake)

Fifth Team: Jonah Allard (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons), Patrick McGuinness (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake)

Class C

Second Team: Tanner Flint (Corinth)

Third Team: Sean McAneny (Greenville), Jordan Ahrens (Canajoharie-Fort Plain), Greg Bogdan (Broadalbin-Perth)

Fourth Team: Ethan Jaynes (Stillwater)

Class D

First Team: Jeremy Spiezio (Greenwich), Daryn Hutchings (Argyle), Jordan Healy (Maple Hill)

Second Team: Pat Murphy (Duanesburg)

Third Team: Devlin Kennedy (Greenwich)

Fourth Team: Colin Beasor (Greenwich)

2013 NYSSWA All-State Girls Cross Country Team

Overall Runner of the Year: Jessica Lawson (Corning)

Senior of the Year: Katie Lembo (Penfield)

Junior of the Year: Annika Avery (Fayetteville-Manlius)

Sophomore of the Year: Megan Reilly (Warwick)

Freshman of the Year: Jessica Lawson (Corning)

Seventh- & Eighth-grader of the Year: Samantha Vetter (Saratoga Springs)

Section II Selections

Class A

Fourth Team: Danielle Jordan (Shenendehowa), Samantha Vetter (Saratoga Springs)

Fifth Team: Emily Burns (Guilderland), Spencer Hayes (Saratoga Springs)

Honorable Mention: Bellane Bower (Colonie), Peyton Engborg (Saratoga Springs), Maryanna Lansing (Shaker), Sarah Morin (Saratoga Springs), Jenna Robinson (Guilderland), Estela Smith (Saratoga Springs), Kathryn Tenney (Colonie), Carly Vetter (Saratoga Springs)

Class B

Second Team: Kaylee Scott (Holy Names)

Third Team: Emily Guinther (Queensbury)

Fourth Team: Megan Kellogg (Queensbury)

Fifth Team: Danielle Soprano (Queensbury)

Sixth Team: Emily Digman (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Sherri Metcalfe (Queensbury)

Honorable Mention: Courtney Breiner (Emma Willard)

Class C

Third Team: Julia Flower (Schalmont)

Fourth Team: Alexandra Bartolotta (Hudson), Ashley Watson (Schuylerville)

Class D

First Team: Tori Spiezio (Greenwich)

Second Team: Sarah Lapham (Greenwich)

Honorable Mention: Monica Strain (Maple Hill)