Ackley, Monette named to all-state boys soccer team

A pair of area players were among those named to the all-state boys soccer team.

Northville senior goalie Tim Monette and Broadalbin-Perth senior forward Logan Ackley were both named to the small-school all-state team.

The small-school team consisted of players from schools in Classs B, C and D, while the large-school team consisted of players from Classes AA and A schools.

Monette was chosen to the second team, while Ackley was named fourth-team all-state.

Monette also was named the Section II Class D Keeper of the Year for the second straight year.

During those two years, Monette was in goal for 38 games, and 21 ended in shutouts. He allowed only 31 goals during the two years – a 0.8 goals-per- game average. This season, he had 12 shutouts and only allowed nine goals all season

Two of the shutouts came in the sectional quarterfinals and semifinals for the Falcons, who lost 2-1 to Fort Ann in the Class D championship game. Monette was one of Northville’s team captains this year and was selected overall as the WAC North Division’s Most Valuable Player.

Ackley was nominated for Section II Class B Player of the Year honors.

Ackley had a team-high 12 goals and five assists for B-P in his senior season.

Also named to the small-school all-state team were Ichabod Crane’s Seth Scarano (first team), Schalmont’s Gino Rossi (second team), Fort Ann’s Chris Jackson (third team), Schuylerville’s Patrick Castle (third team), Ichabod Crane’s Alex Niemann (fourth team), Lake George’s Ian Quilinan (fifth team) and Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Maclin Norray (fifth team).

In the large-school division, Albany’s Erick Kwizera (first team), Colonie’s Paolino Curto (second team), LaSalle’s Ben Beaury (fourth team), Shenendehowa’s Phil Barrett (fourth team), Bethlehem’s Ethan Strauss (fifth team), Averill Park’s Owen Nuss (fifth team), Guilderland’s Kledis Capollari (fifth team)

2013 National Soccer Coaches Association of America All-New York Team

Section II Selections

Large Schools (Class AA, Class A)

First Team

Erick Kwizera (Albany)

Second Team

Paolino Curto (Colonie)

Fourth Team

Phil Barrett (Shenendehowa), Ben Beaury (LaSalle)

Fifth Team

Ethan Strauss (Bethlehem), Kledis Capollari (Guilderland), Owen Nuss (Averill Park)

Small Schools

(Class B, Class C, Class D)

First Team

Seth Scarano (Ichabod Crane)

Second Team

Gino Rossi (Schalmont), Tim Monette (Northville)

Third Team

Pat Castle (Schuylerville), Chris Jackson (Fort Ann)

Fourth Team

Logan Ackley (Broadalbin-Perth), Alex Niemann (Ichabod Crane)

Fifth Team

Maclin Norray (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Ian Quillinan (Lake George)