Community groups address school board

JOHNSTOWN – Community groups thanked the Greater Johnstown School District, and also donated to it, during the Board of Education meeting Thursday night at Pleasant Avenue Elementary School.

Representatives of the area Toys for Tots group and the Johnstown Music Support group addressed the board.

John Pradelski, area coordinator for Toys for Tots, thanked the district for allowing his Marine Corps League organization to use Jansen Avenue School for its holiday program.

“Without the use of the school, we would not be able to run this for the area,” Pradelski said.

Toys for Tots was established in 1947, with its goal to allow needy children the joy of opening a toy on Christmas morning.

Pradelski said the area’s 2013 Toys for Tots program processed over 4,100 toys, delivered to over 1,600 children. In particular, he thanked the district custodial staff for its assistance at Jansen.

Another member of the community to address the board was Sara Randolph, president of the Johnstown Music Support Group. She presented the group’s $1,500 donation to the district Music Department. She said money was raised through a cookie fundraiser. Later in the session, the board formally accepted the donation.

Retirements accepted by the district, effective June 30, were: Janet Bray, teacher assistant; Catherine Santangelo, mathematics teacher; and Susan Ackerbauer, elementary teacher.

The board granted a child care leave of absence to music teacher Jenna Davis from approximately March 4 through May 9. The board approved the temporary appointment of Christian Ritter to a full-time music teacher position to serve during the same period.

The board approved a calendar of events for the district’s annual election this spring. Potential school board candidate nominating petitions are due to district clerk by 5 p.m. April 30. A district budget hearing and Candidates Night is set for 6 p.m. May 13 in the Johnstown High School Lecture Hall. The board’s annual election will be held from 11 a.m. to 8 p.m. May 20.