Area boys soccer players earn Section II honors

Northville goalkeeper Tim Monette was recently named the Section II Class D Keeper of the Year for the second straight year.

During those two years, Monette was in goal for 38 games and 21 ended in shutouts. He allowed only 31 goals during the two years, a 0.8 goals against per game average. This season, he had 12 shutouts and only allowed nine goals all season

Two of the shutouts came in the sectional quarterfinals and semifinals for the Falcons, who lost 2-1 to Fort Ann in the Class D championship game. Monette was one of Northville’s team captains this year and was selected overall as the WAC North Division’s Most Valuable Player.

Other players earning Keeper of the Year honors were LaSalle’s Ben Beaury (Class AA), Lansingburgh’s Jarred Jarosz (Class A), Ichabod Crane’s Pierce Reilly (Class B) and Lake George’s Jeff Naftaly (Class C).

Albany’s Erick Kwizera was named Class AA Player of the Year, while Averill Park’s Owen Nuss and Queensbury’s Chris Goodemote shared Class A Player of the Year honors. Ichabod Crane’s Seth Scarano was named Class B Player of the Year, while Lake George’s Ian Quillinan and Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Maclin Norray shared Class C Player of the Year. Fort Ann’s Chris Jackson was named Class D Player of the Year.

Coach of the Year awards went to Guilderland’s Mike Kinnally (Class AA), Averill Park’s Sean Organ (Class A), Ichabod Crane’s Mattias Nordgren (Class B), Lake George’s Blake White and Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Jim Gillis (Class C), and Fort Ann’s Rich McCabe (Class D).

In addition to the award winners, there were several players nominated for the awards.

In Class AA, Shenendehowa’s Phil Barrett, Bethlehem’s Ethan Strauss, Colonie’s Paolino Curto, Bethlehem’s Matt Henning, Shaker’s David Riccio, Guilderland’s Kledis Capollari and Albany’s Emmanuel Ishiwe were nominated for the Player of the Year award.

In Class A, Amsterdam’s Jared Gallup was nominated for the Player of the Year honors, along with Averill Park’s Mac Hoyt, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake’s Matt Nocito, Albany Academy’s John Moutopoulos and Troy’s Adam Kaarstad.

Broadalbin-Perth’s Logan Ackley was nominated for Class B Player of the Year honors. Ackley had a team-high 12 goals and five assists for B-P in his senior season. Other nominees included Ichabod Crane’s Alex Niemann, Schalmont’s Gino Rossi, Greenville’s Sam Statham, Schuylerville’s Pat Castle and Cairo-Durham’s Jon Mejicano.

In Class C, Lake George’s Craig Keenan, Maple Hill’s Ryan Krupa and Waterford’s Kyle Elliot were nominated for Player of the Year honors.

Northville’s David Onzo and Nick Jonas were among the nominees for Class D Player of the Year honors. Also nominated were New Lebanon’s Justin Bingham, Fort Ann’s Garrett Bailey and Salem’s Osmar Vigil.

Niskayuna’s Riley McDonald and Albany’s Lucas Phayre-Gonzalez were nominated for Class AA Keeper of the Year, while Troy’s Josh Rasmussen and Scotia-Glenville’s Adam Ashcroft were nominated for Class A Keeper of the Year.

Johnstown’s Andy Camarra was among the nominees for Class B Keeper of the Year, along with Catskill’s James Miller, Schalmont’s Tyler Smith and Stillwater’s Travis Rose.

Berlin’s Jackson Burhans, Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Trevor Haack and Hadley-Luzerne’s Alex Gilbert were nominated as Class C Keeper of the Year, while Loudonville Christian’s Johnny Dariano was nominated for Class D Keeper of the Year.

The Coach of the Year nominees in Class AA included Shaker’s Dan Fountain and Albany’s David Weiss, while South Glens Falls’ Travis Birkholz and Queensbury’s Pete Crotty were nominated in Class A.

The Class B Coach of the Year nominees included Schalmont’s Jason Beck, Schuylerville’s Dave Gauci, Coxsackie-Athens’ Curtis Wilkenson and Corinth’s Larry Deso.

Waterford’s Fred Engelmann and Maple Hill’s Dan Gillespie were nominated for Class C Coach of the Year, while Northville’s Steve Clapper, Argyle’s Jamie Morency and Germantown’s Terese Fuchs were nominated for Class D Coach of the Year.

The team sportsmanship awards from the officials went to Niskayuna (Class AA), Troy (Class A), Stillwater (Class B), Cambridge (Class C) and Loudonville Christian (Class D).