County committees to get new leaders

JOHNSTOWN – Five of the Fulton County Board of Supervisors’ six main standing committees have new chairmen for 2014.

The committees won’t meet for the first time until late January. But new board Chairman Rick Argotsinger of Mayfield handed out committee assignments for 2014 at the board’s organizational meeting Thursday.

County Administrative Officer Jon Stead told the board the organizational session was a “ceremonial day” for the county.

“It’s also a day to reflect a little on the past year,” he stated.

Argotsinger was appointed county chairman, and he handed out committee assignments at the end of the session. A comparison to 2013 shows there will be several changes in standing committee leadership for 2014.

Stratford Supervisor Robert Johnson Jr. will serve as chairman of the board’s Buildings and Grounds-Highway Committee. Argotsinger had served as that committee’s chairman in 2013.

Perth Supervisor Greg Fagan will tapped as chairman of the Finance Committee for 2014. Johnstown 3rd Ward Supervisor Jack Callery served as chairman of that panel last year.

Bleecker Supervisor David Howard will serve as chairman of the Human Services Committee, succeeding former Broadalbin Supervisor Joseph Giacomo, who lost his re-election bid. Oppenheim Supervisor George Capek will chair the Personnel Committee, which was chaired by Howard last year.

And Johnstown 4th Ward Supervisor William Waldron will serve as chairman of the Public Safety Committee, which was led in 2013 by former Northampton Supervisor Linda Kemper, who lost her re-election bid.

The only one of the six standing committee to retain its leadership from 2013 is the Economic Development and Environment Committee. Gloversville 3rd Ward Supervisor Michael F. Gendron will again serve as chairman of that committee.

Supervisors also were appointed as liaisons to special committees:

  • Adirondack Government: Northampton Supervisor James Groff.
  • Fish and Wildlife Board: Johnson.
  • Forest Practice Board: Johnson.

Inter-County Legislative Committee of the Adirondacks: Johnstown Town Supervisor Nancy MacVean.

Region 5 Land Acquisition Advisory Committee: Caroga Supervisor Ralph Ottuso.

Soil and Water Conservation District Board: Gloversville 2nd Ward Supervisor Frank Lauria Jr. and Gloversville 6th Ward Supervisor Warren Greene.

Michael Anich covers Johnstown and Fulton County news. He can be reached at