Argotsinger to head county board

JOHNSTOWN – Republican Mayfield Supervisor Rick Argotsinger is due to be appointed chairman of the Fulton County Board of Supervisors at the board’s 2014 organizational meeting Thursday.

The public session starts at 10 a.m. in the second floor Supervisor’s Chambers at the County Office Building. The meeting also will include the swearing in of new supervisors and the board’s appointment of several department heads.

Several sources connected to the board, who asked to remain anonymous, said Argotsinger was preliminarily selected as the one-year county chairman at a gathering for the board’s 17 GOP members Dec. 12 at the Raindancer Restaurant in Perth. Argotsinger would succeed Johnstown 4th Ward Supervisor William Waldron.

Also expected to be named Thursday as board vice chairman for 2014 is Oppenheim Supervisor George Capek, sources said.

Argotsinger and Capek are slated to be appointed following a brief, closed-door Republican caucus.

Reached at the Mayfield Town Hall Monday, Argotsinger said he didn’t care to comment on the upcoming year because he hasn’t been appointed yet.

“Until you’re named, you never know,” he stated.

The 65-year-old Argotsinger, a longtime area farmer, served as chairman of the board’s Buildings and Grounds-Highway Committee for 2013. Argotsinger has served as Mayfield supervisor since February 2009, when he was appointed to the job after then-Supervisor Alan “Herb” McLain died.

Argotsinger, who resides at 215 Route 29A, was born in Gloversville. He and his wife, Elizabeth, have four children and six grandchildren.

He lived most of his life in the town of Mayfield and has run the family farm. He graduated in 1966 from Broadalbin High School. He holds a Bachelor’s degree in animal science from Cornell University.

Argotsinger worked in feed sales for John W. Eshelman & Sons of Lancaster, Pa., as well for the Albers Milling Co. His farming business has included poultry, eggs and sheep farming.

The original choice to head the board in 2014 was 2013 board Vice Chairwoman Linda Kemper. But she lost her re-election bid Nov. 5 to longtime Northville Mayor James Groff.

For about 70 years, the board has followed specific methods as to where the next chairman comes from. Not only is it usually the vice chairman who becomes chairman, but a specific municipal order is followed. The board chairman follows a tenure list and the succession is: one city of Gloversville supervisor, followed by one city of Johnstown supervisor, followed by two years of town supervisors, and then back to the cities. The next in line is usually the longest-tenured supervisor who hasn’t served yet as board chairman, although Argotsinger isn’t the longest tenured town supervisor after Kemper.

Michael Anich covers Johnstown and Fulton County news. He can be reached at