Stock named Foothills MVP

Several area volleyball players were among those selected for the recently announced Foothills Council volleyball all-star team.

Broadalbin-Perth, Gloversville and Johnstown combined to have 16 players named Foothills Council all-stars.

League champion Johnstown had Annie Stock named the league’s Most Valuable Player.

Johnstown, which went 13-1 in league play, also had Jerica Holland, Brianne O’Rourke and Alyssa Nellis named first-team all-stars.

Gloversville, which went 16-5 overall and 10-4 in Foothills play, had Jenna Putnam and Katlyn Pierce named first-team all-stars.

Maddie Gurga and Chelsea LeBlanc were named first-team all-stars for Broadalbin-Perth, which went 14-4 overall and 11-4 in Foothills Council play.

Also named to the first team were Glens Falls’ Rachel Lashway, Hudson Falls’ Tenner Barton, South Glens Falls’ Kassy MacDonald, Queensbury’s Katelyn Ripley, Hudson Falls’ Katie Clouse and Queensbury’s Kristen O’Connor.

Hannah Breda and Morgan Catania were named to the second team for Johnstown, which won its third straight Section II Class B title and reached the state Class B title match.

Ana Kroup and Chelsey Biasini were named second-team all-stars for Gloversville, which lost to Johnstown in five sets in the Class B title match.

Broadalbin-Perth, which lost to Voorheesville in the Section II Class C final, had Regan Reed and Keyana Fariello named to the second team.

Rounding out the second-team all-stars were Glens Falls’ Abbey Fairchild, Hudson Falls’ Hanna Mager, South Glens Falls’ Emma Saxton, Queensbury’s Stephanie Gengel, South Glens Falls’ Melissa Hutchins and Queensbury’s Courtney Keys.

Johnstown’s Madison Smrtic, Broadalbin-Perth’s Megan Ryder and Gloversville’s Shawna Funk all earned honorable-mention status.

Also named honorable mention were Glens Falls’ Jenna Hall, Hudson Falls’ Tommie Hanlon, South Glens Falls’ Kassondra Kreppein, Queensbury’s Mara Bureau, South Glens Falls’ Mackenzie Collier, Glens Falls’ Erin Ryan, Hudson Falls’ Regan Collier-Hogan and South Glens Falls’ Megan Woodell.

2013 Foothills Council Volleyball All-Stars

Most Valuable Players

Annie Stock (Johnstown)

First Team

Maddie Gurga (Broadalbin-Perth), Chelsea LeBlanc (Broadalbin-Perth), Jenna Putnam (Gloversville), Katlyn Pierce (Gloversville), Rachel Lashway (Glens Falls), Tanner Barton (Hudson Falls), Katie Clouse (Hudson Falls), Kassy MacDonald (South Glens Falls), Jerica Holland (Johnstown), Brianne O’Rourke (Johnstown), Alyssa Nellis (Johnstown), Kristen O’Connor (Queensbury), Katelyn Ripley (Queensbury)

Second Team

Regan Reed (Broadalbin-Perth), Keyana Fariello (Broadalbin-Perth), Ana Kroup (Gloversville), Chelsey Biasini (Gloversville), Abbey Fairchild (Glens Falls), Hanna Mager (Hudson Falls), Emma Saxton (South Glens Falls), Melissa Hutchins (South Glens Falls), Hannah Breda (Johnstown), Morgan Catania (Johnstown), Stephanie Gengel (Queensbury), Courtney Keys (Queensbury)

Honorable Mention

Megan Ryder (Broadalbin-Perth), Jenna Hall (Glens Falls), Tommie Hanlon (Hudson Falls), Kassondra Kreppein (South Glens Falls), Mackenzie Collier (South Glens Falls), Mara Bureau (Queensbury), Shawna Funk (Gloversville), Erin Ryan (Glens Falls), Regan Collier-Hogan (Hudson Falls), Megan Woodell (South Glens Falls), Madison Smrtic (Johnstown)