Wells players named Northern Soccer League all-stars

Several Wells players were among those selected for the recently announced Northern Soccer League Division III all-star team.

Seniors Ben Brenan, Ken Chicoski and Stephen Raymond were named first-team all-stars for the Indians, who went 12-2 overall this season and won the NSL Division III title with an 11-1 record. Wells also reached the Section VII Class D semifinals.

Brenan was the netminder for the Indians this season, facing 156 shots on net and allowing 22 goals.

Chicoski had nine goals and 11 assists this season for Wells, while Raymond finished with 13 goals and seven assists.

Matt Michienzi and Seth Weaver earned second-team honors for Wells, while Don Beach shared Coach of the Year honors with Schroon Lake’s Lee Silvernail.

Schroon Lake’s Justin Lough, a senior, was named Most Valuable Player after finishing the season with five goals and 11 assists.

Bobby Rose and Alex Shaughnessy were named first-team all-stars for Schroon Lake, which went 10-1-1 in league play this season.

Rose, a senior defensive midfielder, finished with two goals and eight assists for the Wildcats, while Shaughnessy, a junior had a team-high 20 goals and five assists.

Schroon Lake also had four players named to the second team. Branden Hall, Austin Armstrong, Jack Higgins and Caleb Maisonville earned second-team honors for the Wildcats.

Keene had Zoran Karapetrovic and Gabe Warner (Keene) named to the first team, while Crown Point had Noah Macey and Chad Stephens named first-team all-stars.

Rounding out the first team were Minerva-Newcomb freshman Kalab Helms and Indian Lake-Long Lake’s Shane Short.

Helms had 13 goals and six assists for the Mountaineers, while Short had 12 goals to lead the Orange.

Minerva-Newcomb’s Daghan Karaali and Trevor Moulton were named second-team all-stars.

Also named to the second team were Johnsburg’s Austin Washburn, and Crown Point’s Colby Pertak and Jace Spring.

Keene won the Ray Holmes Sportsmanship Award for Division III.

Northern Soccer League Division III Boys Soccer All-Stars

MVP: Justin Lough (Schroon Lake)

First Team

Kalab Helms (Minerva-Newcomb), Ben Brenan (Wells), Ken Chicoski (Wells), Stephen Raymond (Wells), Bobby Rose (Schroon Lake), Alex Shaughnessy (Schroon Lake), Shane Short (Indian Lake-Long Lake), Zoran Karapetrovic (Keene), Gabe Warner (Keene), Noah Macey (Crown Point), Chad Stephens (Crown Point)

Second Team

Austin Washburn (Johnsburg), Daghan Karaali (Minerva-Newcomb), Trevor Moulton (Minerva-Newcomb), Matt Michienzi (Wells), Seth Weaver (Wells), Branden Hall (Schroon Lake), Austin Armstrong (Schroon Lake), Jack Higgins (Schroon Lake), Caleb Maisonville (Schroon Lake), Colby Pertak (Crown Point), Jace Spring (Crown Point)

Coaches of the Year: Lee Silvernail (Schroon Lake), Don Beach (Wells)

Sportsmanship Award: (Keene)