Blue Devils slip past C-FP, 37-36

CANAJOHARIE – On a night when both teams finished with seven wins, Dolgeville eked out a 37-36 non-league win over Canajoharie-Fort Plain in a non-league wrestling match at Canajoharie High School on Thursday.

“We did what we had to do tonight,” Dolgeville coach Jeremy Calkins said.

The match featured just seven on-mat contests, with host Canajoharie-Fort Plain winning four of those bouts.

“This is a nice start to the season, even though we didn’t win,” C-FP coach Todd Jones said. “I’m still pleased. The kids have been working hard and I’m looking forward to seeing us progress as the season goes on.”

Canajoharie-Fort Plain opened the match with three straight wins to take a 12-0 lead.

Ed Rolle started things off for C-FP with a 9-4 win over Colton Souza at 126 pounds, while Troy DeBlock followed with a hard-fought 5-1 win over Dolgeville’s Stephen Gross.

Gordon Trahan extended the Canajoharie-Fort Plain lead to 12-0, pinning the Blue Devils’ Seth Wilson in 4:42.

Dolgeville got on the board at 145 pounds when Ian Nagle battled through an elbow injury to post a 9-1 major decision over Anthony Brock. The extra point awarded for the eight-point win would prove to be crucial for the Blue Devils.

“Ian [Nagle] has been dealing with an elbow injury the last two years,” Calkins said. “He really gutted it out for us tonight. If he doesn’t win his match, we don’t win. The win is on his shoulders tonight.”

Ben Doolittle followed with a 7-2 victory over C-FP’s Kory Mueller at 152 pounds to cut the Canajoharie-Fort Plain lead to 12-7.

Dolgeville won three of the next four weight classes by forfeit. Ben Nastovski (160 pounds), Fabian Frank (182) and Kasey Foster (195) all won without facing C-FP opposition. Tristan Engle added a pinfall victory for the Blue Devils at 170 pounds, finishing his match with Jordan Griswold in 2:48.

Gene Ryan halted the six-match Dolgeville win streak, picking up a forfeit win at 220 points to make it 31-18. Trent DeBlock added a forfeit win at 285 pounds for C-FP to make it 31-24.

After a double forfeit at 99 pounds, T.J. Hazzard (106) collected C-FP’s third straight forfeit win to cut the Dolgeville lead to 31-30.

Jon Payack gave Canajoharie-Fort Plain a 36-31 lead by pinning Jonathan Handy in 5:40 at 113 pounds.

However, Noah Handy sealed the win for Dolgeville, claiming a forfeit victory at 120 pounds to give the Blue Devils a 37-36 win.

“It’s tough to lose by just a point. If one match had gone the other way, we would have gotten the win,” Jones said. “However, Dolgeville throttled us last year (47-30), so we closed the gap on them a little bit.”

Dolgeville, which won the Section III Class D title last season, is working to fill several unexpected vacancies in its lineup after several wrestlers opted not to return.

“We’re missing a lot of guys that we thought were coming back,” Calkins said. “We’re happy to have the ones who want to be here. They’re working hard and doing a good job.”

Dolgeville (1-0 overall) will travel to Cicero-North Syracuse to compete in the Andersen Tournament on Saturday, while Canajoharie-Fort Plain (0-1 overall) will compete in the Mohonasen Tournament on Saturday.

“I’m happy with how things are coming along,” Jones said. “The kids that wrestled tonight did an outstanding job.”

Dolgeville 37, Canajoharie-Fort Plain 36

126: Ed Rolle (C-FP) dec. Colton Souza, 9-4

132: Troy DeBlock (C-FP) dec. Stephen Gross, 5-1

138: Gordon Trahan (C-FP) pinned Seth Wilson, 4:42

145: Ian Nagle (D) major dec. Anthony Brock, 9-1

152: Ben Doolittle (D) dec. Kory Mueller, 7-2

160: Ben Nastovski (D) won by forfeit

170: Tristan Engle (D) pinned Jordan Griswold, 2:48

182: Fabian Frank (D) won by forfeit

195: Kasey Foster (D) won by forfeit

220: Gene Ryan (C-FP) won by forfeit

285: Trent DeBlock (C-FP) won by forfeit

99: Double forfeit

106: T.J. Hazzard (C-FP) won by forfeit

113: Jon Payack (C-FP) pinned Jonathan Handy, 5:40

120: Noah Handy (D) won by forfeit