Three FFCS players earn Colonial Council honors

Three Fonda-Fultonville players were among those selected on the recently announced Colonial Council volleyball all-star team.

Miranda Nethaway earned first-team honors for the Lady Braves, while Cory Lais and Kerrigan McCaslin were named to the second team.

Voorheesville’s Caroline Bablin was named the Offensive Player of the Year, while Voorheesville’s Libby Bjork was named Most Valuable Player and Setter of the Year. Schalmont’s Emily Hilton was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Bablin, Bjork and Hilton also were named first-team all-stars in the Liberty Division.

Also named to the first team in the Liberty Division were Schalmont’s Rachel Pineda and Lauren Mahar, Cobleskill-Richmondville’s Alaina Thaxter, Albany Academy’s Michaela Carney and Watervliet’s Kiki Szczepanski.

Voorheesville also had Tori Hargrave and Nicole Brower named second-team all-stars.

Also earning second-team honors in the Liberty Division were Schalmont’s Corin Noga, Albany Academy’s Kayla Owens and Cobleskill-Richmondville’s Courtney Mahar.

In the Patriot Division, Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk and Mechanicville each had two players earn first-team honors.

Emma Cumm and Bailey Cross were named to the first team for Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk, while Alydia Zecca and Taylor Hines were honored for Mechanicville.

Also named to the first team in the Patriot Division were Holy Names’ Kerry Losert, Ichabod Crane’s Kim Myers, Lansingburgh’s Diamante Moultre and Ichabod Crane’s Brooke Morgan.

Lansingburgh had Imari Baird and Kyly Horton named second-team all-stars.

Also earning second-team honors in the Patriot Division were Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk’s Hope Rebeor, Mechanicville’s Paige Phelan, Ichabod Crane’s Sarah Quinn Dempsey, Holy Names’ Megan Williams and Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk’s Hailey Irvis.

2013 Colonial Council Volleyball All-Stars

MVP: Libby Bjork (Voorheesville)

Offensive Player of the Year: Caroline Bablin (Voorheesville)

Defensive Player of the Year: Emily Hilton (Schalmont)

Setter of the Year: Libby Bjork (Voorheesville

Liberty Division

First Team

Libby Bjork (Voorheesville), Caroline Bablin (Voorheesville), Rachel Pineda (Schalmont), Lauren Mahar (Schalmont), Emily Hilton (Schalmont), Miranda Nethaway (Fonda-Fultonville), Alaina Thaxter (Cobleskill-Richmondville), Michaela Carney (Albany Academy), Kiki Szczepanski (Watervliet)

Second Team

Cory Lais (Fonda-Fultonville), Kerrigan McCaslin (Fonda-Fultonville), Corin Noga (Schalmont), Kayla Owens (Albany Academy), Courtney Mahar (Cobleskill-Richmondville), Tori Hargrave (Voorheesville), Nicole Brower (Voorheesville)

Patriot Division

First Team

Emma Cumm (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk), Bailey Cross (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk), Alydia Zecca (Mechanicville), Taylor Hines (Mechanicville), Kerry Losert (Holy Names), Kim Myers (Ichabod Crane), Diamante Moultre (Lansingburgh), Brooke Morgan (Ichabod Crane)

Second Team

Hope Rebeor (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk), Paige Phelan (Mechanicville), Sarah Quinn-Dempsey (Ichabod Crane), Megan Williams (Holy Names), Imari Baird (Lansingburgh), Hailey Irvis (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk), Kyly Horton (Lansingburgh)