Area golfers earn all-star honors

Several area golfers were among those selected as all-stars in the Foothills Council, Western Athletic Conference and Big 10 Conference.

Foothills Council

Gloversville’s Josh Fonda was named a league all-star in the Foothills Council. Fonda, a senior, qualified for the state championships with a two-round total of 153 at the Section II Class ABCD state qualifier. Fonda’s total placed him third in the event. He also finished second at the Foothills Council Tournament at Glens Falls Country Club and fifth at the Section II Class B Tournament at Ballston Spa Country Club with a 73.

Johnstown’s Chris Geleta and Broadalbin-Perth’s Alex Bond also were named Foothills Council all-stars. Bond was seventh with an 81 at the Foothills tourney, while Geleta was 11th with an 84. Bond also finished second at the Class B tournament with a round of 79.

Johnstown finished third at the Section II Class B tournament at Ballston Spa Country Club. The Sir Bills also finished fifth at the Foothills Council Tournament, while Broadalbin-Perth was sixth and Gloversville seventh.

Also named Foothills Council all-stars were Glens Falls’ Alex Gibson, Hudson Falls’ Wyatt Gorham, South Glens Falls’ Clark Leonelli, Queenbury’s Colin Gaunt, Scotia-Glenville’s David Renko and Scotia-Glenville’s Dan Omicinski.


Northville-Mayfield’s Jordon Fordyce was named the Western Athletic Conference Most Valuable Player.

Fordyce won the WAC Tournament title with a round of 80 at Sycamore Country Club. He also won the individual title at the Section II Class C-D Tournament with a round of 78 at Ballston Spa Country Club.

Northville-Mayfield’s Gavon Winn earned first-team all-star honors for Northville-Mayfield, which finished ninth at the WAC Tournament.

Saratoga Catholic’s Dylan Seeber, Drew Welcome and Kayla Szekely all were named first-team WAC all-stars. Saratoga Catholic won the WAC regular-season and tournament titles.

Duanesburg’s Pat McGarry and Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Cory Depeaux also named first-team all-stars.

Canajoharie’s Austin Countryman and Michael Balfe were named second-team all-stars, along with Northville-Mayfield’s Frank Coulter. Canajoharie finished fourth at the WAC Tournament, while Fort Plain was eighth.

Also named to the second team were Duanesburg’s Gabe Gentile, Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s C.J. North and Saratoga Catholic’s Colin Bradley.

Big 10

Amsterdam’s James Phelps was named to the Big 10 all-star team.

Amsterdam finished third in the Big 10 regular-season standings with an 8-4 league mark. The Rams also finished third at the Big 10 Tournament.

Christian Brothers Academy and LaSalle tied for the regular-season Big 10 title with 11-1 league marks. CBA claimed the team title, defeating LaSalle in a playoff match by a score of 164-176.

LaSalle edged CBA by two strokes to win the Big 10 Tournament titles.

LaSalle’s Ben Gardinier, Matt Arnold and Liam Baynes were named Big 10 all-stars. Gardinier also earned medalist honors at the Big 10 Tournament. CBA also had three golfers earn all-star honors. Connor Adams, Kyle Adams and Jack O’Hara earned all-star honors for CBA.

Catholic Central’s Spencer Tibbitts and Troy’s Jack Downey rounded out the Big 10 all-star team.

2013 High School Golf All-Stars

Foothills Council

Alex Gibson (Glens Falls), Josh Fonda (Gloversville), Wyatt Gorham (Hudson Falls), Colin Gaunt (Queensbury), David Renko (Scotia-Glenville), Dan Omiscinski (Scotia-Glenville), Alex Bond (Broadalbin-Perth), Chris Geleta (Johnstown), Clark Leonelli (South Glens Falls)


Most Valuable Player

Jordon Fordyce (Northville-Mayfield)

First Team

Dylan Seeber (Saratoga Catholic, Drew Welcome (Saratoga Catholic), Cory Depeaux (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Kayla Szekely (Saratoga Catholic), Gavon Winn (Northville-Mayfield)

Second Team

Gabe Gentile (Duanesburg), C.J. North (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Michael Balfe (Canajoharie), Colin Bradley (Saratoga Catholic), Frank Coulter (Northville-Mayfield), Austin Countryman (Canajoharie)

Big 10

James Phelps (Amsterdam), Connor Adams (CBA), Kyle Adams (CBA), Jack O’Hara (CBA), Spencer Tibbitts (Catholic Central), Ben Gardinier (LaSalle), Matt Arnold (LaSalle), Liam Baynes (LaSalle), Jack Downey (Troy)