Area runners earn Foothills Council honors

Several area runners were among those selected to the recently announced Foothills Council Cross Country all-star team.

Broadalbin-Perth senior Greg Bogdan was the lone first-team all-star. Bogdan finished 16th last Saturday in the state Class C meet at Queensbury. It was his third career trip to the state meet.

Queensbury senior Zane Belden, the individual champion at the Foothills Council Championships, also was named to the first team.

Senior Ryun Murphy and sophomore Daken Broadhead also were named first-team all-stars for Scotia-Glenville, which won the team title at the Foothills Council Championships.

Rounding out the first-team all-stars were Glens Falls senior Noah Duell, Hudson Falls senior Jason Linendoll and South Glens Falls junior Mathew Jenkins.

Gloversville junior Phil Meher was named a second-team all-stars.

Scotia-Glenville placed junior Matt Forshey, sophomore Grant Norton and sophomore Dennis Pollicino on the second team.

Also named second-team all-stars were Queensbury senior Benjamin Holser, Glens Falls senior Justin Ryan and Queensbury freshman Ethan Carey.

Gloversville junior Jack Hayes was named to the honorable-mention team.

Also earning honorable-mention status were Queensbury’s Christian Vaillancourt, Glens Falls’ Sean Ash, South Glens Falls’ James Stone, Queensbury’s Brian Doester, Glens Falls’ Jared McIntosh and Scotia-Glenville’s James Denney.

The Queensbury girls had six runners named first-team all-stars. Seniors Megan Kellogg and Jennifer Messina were named first-team all-stars for the Spartans, while juniors Emily Guinther and Rachael Guinther, sophomore Sherri Metcalfe, and eighth-grader Danielle Soprano also earned first-team honors for Queensbury. Kellogg won the individual title at the Foothills Council Championships for Queensbury, which also won the Foothills Council, Section II Class B and state Class B titles.

South Glens Falls senior Sara Billings and Hudson Falls senior Haley Mooney also earned first-team honors.

Broadalbin-Perth placed five runners on the second team.

Juniors Coreena Monroe, Victoria Opalka and Sarah Naple, and eighth-graders Jordyn DeNeuville and Mackenzie DeZolt all earned second-team honors for the Lady Patriots, who won the Section?II?Class C title.

Queensbury eighth-grader Emily Atamanchuk also earned second-team honors.

Broadalbin-Perth junior and Gloversville senior Cassandra Ryan each earned honorable-mention status.

Emily Crotty, Emma Hayes, Alexis Bartlett, Kimberly Hanchett and Kathryn Ackner were named honorable mention for Queensbury.

Also earning honorable-mention status were Scotia-Glenville’s Laura Meade and Cara Zanta, South Glens Falls’ Regina Rosati and Amber Decrescente, and Hudson Falls’ Jessie Johnston.

2013 Foothills Council Cross Country All-Stars


First Team

Zane Belden (Queensbury), Noah Duell (Glens Falls), Ryun Murphy (Scotia-Glenville), Greg Bogdan (Broadalbin-Perth), Daken Broadhead (Scotia-Glenville), Jason Linendoll (Hudson Falls), Mathew Jenkins (South Glens Falls)

Second Team

Matt Forshey (Scotia-Glenville), Grant Norton (Scotia-Glenville), Dennis Pollicino (Scotia-Glenville), Benjamin Holser (Queensbury), Justin Ryan (Glens Falls), Ethan Carey (Queensbury), Phil Meher (Gloversville)

Honorable Mention

Christian Vaillancourt (Queensbury), Jack Hayes (Gloversville), Sean Ash (Glens Falls), James Stone (South Glens Falls), Brian Doester (Queensbury), Jared McIntosh (Glens Falls), James Denney (Scotia-Glenville)


First Team

Megan Kellogg (Queensbury), Emily Guinther (Queensbury), Sara Billings (South Glens Falls), Sherri Metcalfe (Queensbury), Danielle Soprano (Queensbury), Rachael Guinther (Queensbury), Jennifer Messina (Queensbury), Haley Mooney (Hudson Falls)

Second Team

Emily Atamanchuk (Queensbury), Coreena Monroe (Broadalbin-Perth), Jordyn DeNeuville (Broadalbin-Perth), Victoria Opalka (Broadalbin-Perth), Mackenzie DeZolt (Broadalbin-Perth), Sarah Naple (Broadalbin-Perth)

Honorable Mention

Regina Rosati (South Glens Falls), Jessie Johnston (Hudson Falls), Cara Zanta (Scotia-Glenville), Cassandra Ryan (Gloversville), Amber Decresente (South Glens Falls), Laura Meade (Scotia-Glenville), Alex Opalka (Broadalbin-Perth), Emily Crotty (Queensbury), Emma Hayes (Queensbury), Alexis Bartlett (Queensbury), Kimberly Hanchett (Queensbury), Kathryn Ackner (Queensbury)