Dillenbeck named WAC North MVP

By The Leader-Herald

Several area players were among those selected to the recently announced Western Athletic Conference girls soccer all-star team.

Leading the way was Canajoharie senior Jenelle Dillenbeck, who was named the WAC North Division MVP Dillenbeck finished her senior season with 42 goals and 10 assists, leading the Lady Cougars to a 17-4 overall record. Canajoharie won the Section II Class C title before losing to Northern Adirondack, 3-1, in regional play Saturday at Plattsburgh High?School.

The Lady Cougars also won the WAC North Division title this season with a 10-1 league mark.

Schoharie coaches Tammy Drinon and Kevin Scofield shared the Coach of the Year Award, while Schoharie’s Sydney Stanley was named Goalkeeper of the Year. Middleburgh’s Amanda Roney and Schoharie’s Lauren Archer shared the WAC South Division MVP Award.

Joining Dillenbeck on the first team were teammates Ariannah Logan and Jordyn Logan. Ariannah Logan finished her junior season with 16 goals and nine assists, while Jordyn Logan posted 16 assists and eight goals in her junior campaign.

Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville, which won the Section II Class D title, had senior Skyler Viveros, junior Leann Clark and sophomore Hannah Taylor named first-team all-stars.

The Lady Wolves, who finished the season 15-4-1 overall, lost to Eldred in regional play Saturday at Middletown High School.

Mayfield sophomore Julie Hampton and Northville seniors Mary Ryan and Lyndsey Wadsworth also were named to the first team. Ryan had two goals and seven assists for the Lady Falcons this season, while Wadsworth had five goals and five assists for the Lady Falcons this season.

Rounding out the first-team all-stars were Schoharie’s Kaitlyn Kendle and Carolyn Krohn, Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Delaney Martin, Middleburgh’s Taylor Cater, Galway’s Erica Chase, Schoharie’s Seana Cleveland, Galway’s Felicia Snyder, Mekeel Christian Academy’s Macie Holmes, Middleburgh’s Aleesha LeRuzic, Mekeel Christian’s Lindsey McCarty and Duanesburg’s Maeve McKeeby.

Canajoharie also had two players named second-team all-stars. Brianna Slater and Paige Shovelton each earned second-team honors for the Lady Cougars. Slater, a senior, and Shovelton, a junior, anchored the Lady Cougars’ defense, which posted nine shutouts this season. Four of those shutouts came in the Section II playoffs as Canajoharie outscored its postseason foes 21-0 on its way to the Class C title.

Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville’s Jessi Hagadorn, and Rylie Smith, a junior, also earned second-team honors, along with Fort Plain sophomore Caitlyn Porter.

Also named to the second team were Northville seniors Tessa Hadland and Veronica Arceri, Mayfield sophomore Emily Cromie and junior Stacia Sakadolsky

Rounding out the second team were Galway’s Shelby Suits and Molly Mancini, Schoharie’s McKenzie Phelan, Sydney Stanley and Kailee VanGasbeck, Mekeel Christian’s Nicole Pigliavento and Abby Knox, Middleburgh’s Lyndsay McCoy and Carley Ryan, Duanesburg’s Nicole Cassale and Megan Wilkes.

2013 Western Athletic Conference

Girls Soccer All-Stars

Goalkeeper of the Year: Sydney Stanley (Schoharie)

Coaches of the Year: Tammy Drinon and Kevin Scofield (Schoharie)

South Division MVP: Lauren Archer (Schoharie), Amanda Roney (Middleburgh)

North Division MVP: Jenelle Dillenbeck (Canajoharie)

North Division

First Team

Janelle Dillenbeck (Canajoharie), Ariannah Logan (Canajoharie), Jordyn Logan (Canajoharie), Hannah Taylor (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Skyler Viveros (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Leann Clark (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Mary Ryan (Northville), Lyndsey Wadsworth (Northville), Felicia Snyder (Galway), Erica Chase (Galway), Julie Hampton (Mayfield)

Second Team

Caitlyn Porter (Fort Plain), Brianna Slater (Canajoharie), Paige Shovelton (Canajoharie), Jessica Hagadorn (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Rylie Smith (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Tessa Hadland (Northville) Veronica Arceri (Northville), Shelby Suits (Galway), Molly Mancini (Galway), Emily Cromie (Mayfield), Stacia Sakadolsky (Mayfield)

South Division

First Team

Lauren Archer (Schoharie), Kaitlyn Kendle (Schoharie), Carolyn Krohn (Schoharie), Seana Cleveland (Schoharie), Amanda Roney (Middleburgh), Taylor Cater (Middleburgh), Aleesha LeRuzic (Middleburgh), Macie Holmes (Mekeel Christian), Lindsay McCarty (Mekeel Christian), Delaney Martin (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Maeve McKeeby (Duanesburg)

Second Team

Sydney Stanley (Schoharie), Kailee VanGasbeck (Schoharie), McKenzie Phelan (Schoharie), Carley Ryan (Middleburgh), Lyndsay McCoy (Middleburgh), Nicole Pigliavento (Mekeel Christian), Abby Knox (Mekeel Christian), Nicole Cassale (Duanesburg), Megan Wilkes (Duanesburg)