Askew posts pair of wins at Division II swim meet

CLIFTON PARK – Johnstown’s Erica Askew won two events Saturday at the Section II Swimming and Diving Championships at Shenendehowa High School.

Askew won the 200-yard individual medley and 100-yard breaststroke in the Division II (small-school) meet.

In the 100 breaststroke, Askew broke the Johnstown school record of 1:07.57 set by Betsy Sammons in 1985 with her time of 1:05.89. Askew’s time also tied the Shenendehowa pool record, set by Saratoga Springs’ Caroline Conboy on Nov. 3, 2012.

Askew also won the 200-yard individual medley with a time of 2:13.21.

Askew will compete in the 100 breaststroke at the New York State Public High School Athletic Association swimming and diving state meet on Nov. 22 and Nov. 23 in Ithaca.

Albany Academy won the Division II team title with 352.5 points, while Mohonasen-Schalmont was second with 303 points. Queensbury (264 points) was third, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake (244) was fourth and Troy (188) completed the top five. Gloversville-Mayfield finished eighth with 145 points, Johnstown was ninth with 142 points and Amsterdam was 13th with 24 points.

In addition to Askew, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake’s Shawna Weaver also posted victories in two events, winning the 200 freestyle and 500 freestyle.

Other individual winners included Mohonasen-Schalmont’s Allison Hutchins (50 freestyle), Glens Falls’ Mia Cote (100 butterfly), Albany Academy’s Julie Ehrlich (100 freestyle) and Mohonasen-Schalmont’s Rebecca Nelson (100 backstroke).

Johnstown’s Cecelia Mowrey was fourth in the 200 individual medley with a time of 2:21.88 seconds, while Amsterdam’s Justine Youngs (2:43.89) was 16th. Mowrey also was fifth in the 500 freestyle with a time of 5:37.82. Youngs also was 15th in the 100 backstroke with a time of 1:12.21.

Gloversville-Mayfield’s Desiree Ives placed fifth in the 100 backstroke with a time of 1:06.49. Ives (5:54.42) also was 11th in the 500 freestyle.

In the 200 freestyle, Johnstown’s Erica Wagner (2:10.45) was 10th, Gloversville-Mayfield’s Jenna Cordone (2:16.00) was 15th and Gloversville-Mayfield’s Jennifer Vickery (2:16.52) was 16th.

Gloversville-Mayfield’s Sam Stewart (27.28) was 13th in the 50 freestyle, while Gloversville-Mayfield’s Sara Curtis (27.83) was 15th.

In the 100 butterfly, Gloversville-Mayfield’s Kylie Cotugno was seventh with a time of 1:05.51, while Wagner was 14th for Johnstown with a time of 1:09.39. Cotugno alo was fourth in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:13.01.

Johnstown’s Emily Miles was ninth in the 100 freestyle with a time of 59.35, while Gloversville-Mayfield’s Stewart was 11th with a time of 1:00.54. Curtis (1:01.85) was 15th for Gloversville-Mayfield, while Gloversville-Mayfield’s Taylor Wadsworth (1:02.05) was 16th.

Miles also placed 13th in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:18.64.

Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake won the 200 medley relay, while Mohonasen-Schalmont won the 200 freestyle and 400 freestyle relays.

Gloversville-Mayfield was fifth in the 200 medley relay as the team of Ives, Cotugno, Stewart and Curtis posted a time of 1:59.25. Johnstown was seventh as the team of Mowrey, Askew, Wagner and Miles recorded a time of 1:59.80, while Amsterdam’s team of Gulianna Pritchard, Kayla Dzikowicz, McKenzie Farina and Youngs was 12th with a time of 2:20.72.

In the 200 freestyle relay, Gloversville-Mayfield was seventh as the team of Stewart, Wadsworth, Vickery and Curtis posted a time of 1:50.30. Johnstown and Amsterdam were both disqualified and failed to earn any points.

In the 400 freestyle relay, Johnstown placed sixth as the team of Mowrey, Wagner, Miles and Askew posted a time of 3:54.88. Gloversville-Mayfield was eighth as Ives, Cordone, Cotugno and Vickery posted a time of 4:05.68. Amsterdam’s team of Dzikowicz, Juilana Busseno, Mianna Conti and Pritchard posted a time of 4:39.84 to place 11th.

“All of our girls swam well and I am very proud of their performance and sportsmanship,” Johnstown coach Julianna Popp said. “The excellent results from our four swimmers shows their dedication and hard work has paid off this season.”

Host Shenendehowa won the Division I (large-school) team title with a total of 483 points. Niskayuna (465 points) was second and Saratoga Springs (349.5) was third.