Election results: King, Julius win mayoral elections; Ossenfort wins executive race

Gloversville voters returned Mayor Dayton King to office for another four years Tuesday.

King, a Republican, easily defeated James Handy in a vote of 1,499 to 899, according to unofficial results.

Meanwhile, in the race for councilman-at-large, Republican James Robinson narrowly defeated Democrat Robin Wentworth in a vote of 1,130 to 1,049.

In Johnstown, Democrat Michael Julius won the three-way race for mayor, defeating Republican Scott Jeffers and Conservative Helen Martin.

Julius received 828 votes, Jeffers garnered 649 votes and Martin received 350, according to unofficial results.

Incumbent Mayor Sarah Slingerland did not seek re-election.

In the race for Johnstown councilman-at-large, independent candidate Christopher Swatt unseated incumbent Bryan Marcucci, a Republican.

Swatt received 897 votes compared to Marcucci’s 664, according to unofficial results.

In the race for Montgomery County executive, Matthew Ossenfort overwhelmingly defeated Dominick Stagliano by a vote of 7,012 to 2,714, according to unofficial results Tuesday.

Ossenfort had the Republican, Conservative and independent lines, while Stagliano was running on the Democratic line.

Ossenfort will be the county’s first executive since the county decided to change its form of government from a board of supervisors to a county legislature.

In other local races Tuesday:


Town Supervisor Linda Kemper lost her re-election bid to Republican and Conservative James K. Groff, according to unofficial results.

Groff, Northville’s mayor, received 468 votes, while Kemper received 351, according to the Fulton County Board of Elections.


Independent candidate Robert E. Johnson Jr. defeated Democrat Bernard Leavitt Jr. in the election for town

supervisor Tuesday, according to unofficial election results.

Johnson received 110 votes and Leavitt received 89 votes, according to the Fulton County Board of Elections.


Republican Thomas Christopher unseated incumbent Supervisor Joseph DiGiacomo, according to unofficial results.

Christopher received 674 votes, while DiGiacomo received 367.


Supervisor Ralph Ottuso held on to his town supervisor’s seat, defeating challenger Ronald McLain, according to unofficial results.

Ottuso, a Republican, received 251 votes. McLain, a Democrat, received 94 votes.


Republican George Capek defeated independent candidate Walter H. Rumrill Jr. in the race for town supervisor, according to unofficial results.

Capek received 178 votes, while Rumrill garnered 119.


In the Montgomery County town of Mohawk, Edward Bishop, a Republican, defeated Democrat and Conservative Wayne DeMallie in the race for town supervisor, according to unofficial results.

Bishop received 464 votes, compared to DeMallie’s 423.