FFCS boys, B-P girls win Grout titles

SCHENECTADY – The Fonda-Fultonville boys and Broadalbin-Perth girls cross-country teams won the Division C titles Saturday at the 75th annual Grout Invitational at Central Park.

“Today was a very good day for our entire program as a whole,” Broadalbin-Perth coach Jeff Richards said. “Running without one of our top-five girls [Sara Naple], our team was still able to rise to the challenge as they brought home their second title in a row.”

In the Division C boys race, Fonda-Fultonville won the team title with 103 points, while Maple Hill was second with 148 points and Schuylerville was third with 151 points.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain was 10th with 205 points, Broadalbin-Perth was 14th with 274 points and Mayfield fielded an incomplete team.

Maple Hill’s Jordan Healy won the 2.75-mile Division C boys race with a time of 13:51.59.

Broadalbin-Perth’s Greg Bogdan (14:09.33) was second, Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Jordan Ahrens (14:17.69) was third and Fonda-Fultonville’s Cameron Gilligan (14:35.81) was fifth.

“On the boys side, we showed much improvement. Greg Bogdan ran a very patient race and was able to finish second behind a solid Jordan Healy of Maple Hill,” Richards said. “More importantly, our other runners showed some guts as all ran big personal records. Like the girls, they are gaining confidence with each race and, as a result, I am confident we will be better than many predict us come sectionals. “

Dylan DeSorbo (14:58.44) was eighth for FFCS, while Dalton Hunter was 18th with a time of 15:19.75.

Other Fonda-Fultonville finishers included Damion Freeman (35th, 15:51.87), Clane Newcomer (50th, 16:29), Dan Westman (55th, 16:33.97) and Jason Klotz (78th, 17:26.41).

Alex Hitrick was 19th for Broadalbin-Perth with a time of 15:20.88, while Jacob Mosher was 64th with a time of 16:52.90.

Other B-P finishers included Connor Mauche (114th, 19:41.11), Brandon Frye (124th, 19:54.00) and Tim Zukas (126th, 22:37.37).

Ruben McFarlane (15:40.47) was 26th for Canajoharie-Fort Plain, while Jon Payack (15:40.96) was 27th.

Other Canajoharie-Fort Plain finishers included Andrew Hanifin (88th, 17:51.97), Tim Hazzard (91st, 18:14.76), Zephran Vosburgh (106th, 19:10.30) and Travis Herringshaw (109th, 19:19.63).

Connor Akowicz led Mayfield, finishing 51st with a time of 16:30.44. Mitch Akowicz (17:02.58) was 69th for the Panthers, Austin Davis (17:15.57) was 75th and Ian Chamberlain (17:43.71) was 82nd.

In the Division C girls race, Broadalbin-Perth won with a team total of 45 points.

Schuylerville was second with 93 points and Cohoes was third with 103 points.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain was 11th with 233 points, while Mayfield fielded an incomplete team.

Schalmont’s Julia Flower won the Division C girls race, covering the 2.75-mile course in a time of 16:38.59.

Jordyn DeNeuville led Broadalbin-Perth, placing fourth with a time of 16:55.54. Victoria Opalka (17:10.30) was fifth for B-P, Coreena Monroe (17:19.76) was seventh and Mackenzie DeZolt (17:26.99) was eighth. Other Broadalbin-Perth finishers included Alex Opalka (24th, 18:51.05), Joanna Tavolaro (42nd, 19:57.31) and Renee Bellinger (49th, 20:11.96).

“The girls are gaining confidence in themselves and, more importantly, in each other,” Richards said. “There is still room for improvement, but if they can keep believing as they did today and continue to run as one they might just discover how good they really are.”

Cheyenne Munson paced Canajoharie-Fort Plain, finishing 29th with a time of 18:57.87.

Gabby Bridgewater (19:18.56) was 35th for C-FP, while Alexis Kane (21:10.48) was 66th. Other C-FP finishers included Abby Boyer (80th, 22:31.81) and Carolyn Adams (81st, 22:31.81).

Emily Cromie led Mayfield, placing 57th with a time of 20:33.17. Juleh Nikollaj (20:38.89) was 61st for the Lady Panthers, and Emily Barker (21:51.98) was 73rd.

Division I

The Gloversville girls and boys each finished seventh in Division I at the Grout Invitational.

In the Division I girls race, Queensbury won the team title with 33 points, while Shaker was second with 36 points. Gloversville was seventh with 172 points.

Shaker’s Maryanna Lansing won the 2.75-mile girls race with a time of 15:49.87.

Cassandra Ryan led Gloversville, placing 24th with a time of 18:25.04. Sarah Ambrosino (19:12.04) was 34th for the Huskies, while Katie Senzio (19:25.54) was 39th. Other Gloversville finishers included Tierney Vandeusen (40th, 19:37.94), Emily Ambrosino (42nd, 19:44.70), Veronica Peck (54th, 22:35.55) and Kayla Murphy (56th, 23:29.29).

In the Division I boys race, Shaker won the team title with a total of 34 points. Christian Brothers Academy was second with 46 points and Washingtonville was third with 93 points. Gloversville was seventh with 177 points.

Christian Brothers Academy’s Justin Van Epps won the 2.75-mile boys race with a time of 13:43.90.

Jack Hayes led Gloversville, placing 24th with a time of 15:14.14.

Phil Meher (15:21.28) was 28th for the Huskies, while Hunter Marshall (15:40.13) was 33rd. Other Gloversville finishers included Anthony Hayes (44th, 17:11.16) and Christopher Hernandez (48th, 18:37.39).

Division II

The Johnstown boys and girls both fielded incomplete teams in the Division II race.

In the Division II boys race, Niskayuna won the team title with 48 points, while Bethlehem was second with 52 points.

Bethlehem’s Stephen Booker won the 2.75-mile Division II boys race with a time of 13:23.30.

Cameron Roten led Johnstown, placing 39th with a time of 15:50.50.

Sam Brunetto (16:01.58) was 45th for the Sir Bills, Devlin Bahruth (18:18.91) was 55th and Devon Beekman-Williams (34:27.72) was 59th.

In the Division II girls race, Colonie won the team title with a total of 29 points. Bethlehem (60 points) was second and Connetquot (70) was third.

Connetquot’s Erin Melly won the 2.75-mile Division II girls race with a time of 15:55.79.

Skylar Swatt led Johnstown, placing 48th with a time of 20:41.49. Bridget Spagnuola (24:51.90) was 55th for the Lady Bills, Tatyana Rosario (25:55.82) was 59th and Lyndsey Fiore (25:55.82) was 60th.