Absentee votes result in new winner

JOHNSTOWN – The Fulton County Board of Elections counted absentee votes from the Sept. 10 primaries, and a race in the town of Johnstown was the only one whose outcome was changed as a result.

The board reported on primary night that 295 absentees were received for Fulton County’s primaries. Absentees were counted earlier this week, and Deputy Election Commissioner Ellie DiScioscia said Wednesday the “official” totals are now in on the races.

In the town of Johnstown, numbers from primary night showed Clarinda Bellen with 117 votes and Walter Lane with 111 to win the Republican nominations for two seats available on the Town Council. Coming in third was James Westover with 106 votes.

With absentees included, Lane still won with 136 total votes, but Westover came in second with 135 votes. Bellen lost by coming in third with 130 votes.

In the Nov. 5 general election, John Zawadski, Tamara Healy and Lane also will appear on independent lines, and Zawadski will run as a Democrat as well.

Elsewhere in Fulton County, DiScioscia said, the counting of absentee votes didn’t change primary outcomes but made margins of victory smaller in some cases.

In the Gloversville mayoral race, incumbent Mayor Dayton King retained the Republican and Conservative nominations. In the GOP primary, he received 457 official votes, compared to 428 for Michael Ponticello, and 150 for James Handy. On primary night the figures were: King – 435, Ponticello – 372, and Handy – 133.

In the Conservative primary, King beat Handy by 21-6, after an initial 19-6 primary night victory.

Ponticello is out of the mayoral race, but Handy will run in the general election as an independent candidate.

In the city of Johnstown, Republican mayoral nominee Scott Jeffers gained 38 absentees, for a final total of 330. Coming in second on primary night was Helen Martin with 231 votes and she again finished second with 250 official votes. Trailing was Larry Razzano with 145 votes.

Jeffers, on the Republican line, will face Martin, on the Conservative line, and Democrat Michael Julius in the general election.

Final totals for other major Fulton County primaries were as follows:

Town of Broadalbin: Challenger Thomas Christopher beat incumbent town of Broadalbin Supervisor Joseph DiGiacomo by a 292-179 count. Before absentees, Christopher unofficially won by a 280-165 count.

DiGiacomo also will be on the Conservative line in the Nov. 5 general election. In addition to the Republican line, Christopher’s name also will be on the independent Patriot Party line.

Town of Northampton: incumbent Supervisor Linda Kemper was officially beaten by James Groff 229-100 in the Republican primary. The totals were Groff – 211, Kemper – 92 on primary night.

She also lost in the Conservative primary, 11-5, although she gained two absentees.

In the Northampton councilmen race, voters had to choose two of three Republicans. On primary day, they chose Darryl Roosa with 232 votes and Art Simmons with 184 votes. Guy Poulin came in third with 108 votes. With absentees counted, the results were the same with these final figures: Roosa – 253; Simmons – 200; and Poulin – 116.

Town of Oppenheim: Incumbent George E. Capek beat Walter H. Rumrill, 54-46, for the Republican nomination for town supervisor, although Rumrill picked up 12 absentees and Capek didn’t pick up any. Rumrill is running as an independent in November as well.

Town of Caroga: Winners of the Republican nomination for Town Council on primary day were Anthony Sturchio with 126 votes and John Glenn with 88 votes. Others in the race were Tara Kaczor with 76 votes and Anthony Russitano with 75 votes. The final figures were: Sturchio – 134; Glenn – 92; Kaczor – 86; and Russitano – 75.

Town of Mayfield: Steven VanAllen with 135 votes and Vince Coletti with 133 received the Republican ballot lines for town council. Coming in third with 100 votes was Jack Putman. VanAllen picked up 17 absentees, Coletti picked up 14 absentees, and Putman picked up 18 absentees.


Many absentee ballots are in for Montgomery county, but the results are not official yet, according to Montgomery County Board of Elections Republican Commissioner Terrance Smith.

Smith said military absentee votes are expected before the official results will be announced. The deadline for the military ballots to be in is Tuesday.

The absentee ballots that have been counted did not alter the outcome of any primary from?Sept. 10. The unofficial results with absentee ballots show:

Minden Supervisor Thomas Quackenbush won the Republican primary for the District 2 legislative seat. Quackenbush defeated Palatine Supervisor Brian Sweet for the Republican nomination.

According to unofficial vote tallies, Quackenbush received 163 votes and Sweet received 136 votes. The win earns Quackenbush the Republican line in the November general election. Quackenbush also will run as a Democrat for the position.

Sweet, however, won the Conservative party primary. Sweet received four votes, while Quackenbush received three votes, according to unofficial vote totals.

The legislative seat is one of nine in the new Montgomery County Legislature, which will replace the Board of Supervisors in January.

Edward Bishop received 163 votes, while James Hoffman received 113 votes in the contest for the Republican line for the Mohawk supervisor position in the general election.

Wayne T. DeMallie will run for supervisor as an independent on the Frog Party line in the general election.

In the race for Mohawk highway superintendent, incumbent William D. Holvig won the Republican nomination with 144 votes. He beat Ronald G. Hinkle, who received 127 votes. Both candidates will appear on independent lines in the general election.

In Florida’s town clerk race, Kim LaMont, who won the Republican primary by a vote of 91-75 over Katheryn N. Hermance, will face Denise B. Dennison, an independent candidate, in the general election. LaMont also is running on the Integrity Party line.

According to the unofficial results for Minden Town Council, Stephen Heiser and Thomas Yager won Republican nominations with 98 and 121 votes, respectively. James E. Earing, Joan Eckler and Bryan Hayes received 29, 72 and 39 votes, respectively.

Heiser and Yager will face Free Choice candidate Todd W. McFee in the general election.

Highway superintendent hopeful Scott A. Crewell beat out Ronald Douglas for the Republican nomination, 101-76. Crewell will face Albert Hayes of the Lindsay Party in the general election.

In St. Johnsville’s Town Council primary race, Ronald Millington and Susan Handy each won a Republican nominations with 24 and 16 votes respectively, while Ronald Hezel came in last with 9 votes.

Arthur Cleveland contributed information to this report.