B-P girls place third at Fort Plain Invitational

FORT PLAIN – The Broadalbin-Perth girls cross-country team finished third Saturday in the Division I race at the Fort Plain Invitational.

Arlington won the Division I team title with 34 points, while Guilderland was second with 58 points. Broadalbin-Perth was third with 95 points, Gloversville was fourth with 160 points and Amsterdam was 10th with 204 points. Johnstown fielded an incomplete team.

Arlington’s Bella Burda won the Division I girls race, covering the 3-mile course in a time of 17:40.62.

Gloversville’s Brittany Craven was the top area finisher, placing eighth with a time of 19:34.42. Broadalbin-Perth’s Sarah Naple (19:37.13) was 10th and Victoria Opalka (19:39.94) was 12th.

Jordyn DeDeuville (20:23.19) was 23rd for B-P, Mackenzie DeZolt (20:35.04) was 24th, Alex Opalka (21:28.45) was 27th, Renee Bellinger (23:16.00) was 53rd and Victoria Laurange (24:17.18) was 66th.

Gloversville’s Cassandra Ryan (20:21.01) was 21st, while Sarah Ambrosino (22:00.72) was 35th. Tierney Vandeusen (22:50.61) was 47th for the Huskies and Haley Schuyler (23:41.40) was 58th.

Ilenis Quinones led Amsterdam, placing 17th with a time of 20:02.94, while Chantel Dopp (20:11.29) was 18th. Caitlyn Adamchick (22:31.22) was 39th for the Lady Rams, Alyssa Turo (25:23.44) was 73rd and Katelyn Castler (26:31.34) was 75th.

Skylar Swatt led Johnstown, placing 49th with a time of 22:54.21. Lyndsey Fiore (27:38.96) was 81st for the Lady Bills and Tatyana Rosario (31:25.71) was 85th.

Division II Girls

In the Division II girls race, Greenwich won the team title with 23 points, while Maple Hill was second with 63 points. Fonda-Fultonville, Mayfield and Canajoharie-Fort Plain all fielded incomplete teams.

Greenwich’s Tori Spezio won the Division II girls race with a time of 18:44.59.

Fonda-Fultonville’s Kacie Hunter (20:23.81) was fifth, while Kimberly Geniti (sixth, 20:27.90) and Jamie Kasza (eighth, 20:50.89) also posted top-10 finishes for the Lady Braves.

Carly Littlejohn (22:19.86) was 24th for the Lady Braves.

Cheyenne Munson led Canajoharie-Fort Plain, placing 26th with a time of 22:27.02. Gabby Bridgewater (22:53.02) was 33rd for C-FP, Abby Boyer (23:44.31) was 43rd and Alexis Kane (24:25.44) was 53rd.

Emily Cromie led Mayfield, placing 37th with a time of 23:22.51.

Division II Boys

Greenwich won the Division II boys team title with 63 points, while Duanesburg was second with 112 points. Fonda-Fultonville (134 points) was fifth, Mayfield (282) was 10th and Canajoharie-Fort Plain (288) was 11th.

Greenwich’s Jeremy Spezio won the Division II boys race with a time of 15:21.51.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Jordan Ahrens led the local finishers, placing sixth with a time of 16:12.27.

Dylan DeSorbo led Fonda-Fultonville, placing 11th with a time of 17:18.50. Cameron Gilligan (17:18.50) was 14th for FFCS, Dalton Hunter (18:06.05) was 30th, Damion Freeman (18:12.43) was 32nd, Danny Westman (18:56.37) was 51st, Jason Klotz (20:51.33) was 84th and Cole Wozniak (22:35.96) was 94th.

Josh Gallup led Mayfield, placing 20th with a time of 17:49.24. Connor Akowicz (19:07.41) was 57th for the Panthers, Mitch Akowicz (19:31.31) was 64th, Justin Davis (19:52.84) was 70th and Brent Gray (20:46.38) was 83rd.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Ruben McFarlane (18:03.23) was 27th, Andrew Hanifin (20:41.12) was 81st, Zephran Vosburgh (23:02.95) was 96th, Josh Cechnicki (24:31.11) was 100th, Alexis Decker (24;57.93) was 102nd and Gene Ryan (25:45.38) was 104th.

Division I Boys

Arlington won the Division I boys team title with 39 points, while Guilderland (81 points) was second and Scotia-Glenville (96) was third.

Gloversville was seventh with 246 points, Broadalbin-Perth (303 points) was 12th and Amsterdam (329) was 13th. Johnstown fielded an incomplete team.

Christian Brothers Academy’s Justin VanEpps won the Division I boys race with a time of 15:19.53.

Broadalbin-Perth’s Greg Bogdan was the top local finisher, placing fourth with a time of 16:01.62.

Alex Hitrick was 54th for the Patriots with a time of 18:07.10, Nicolai Mosher (19:18.34) was 71st, Jacob Mosher (19:45.01) was 78th and Tim Zukas (24;16.10) was 106th.

Hunter Marshall led Gloversville with a 33rd-place finish in a time of 17:23.19. Phil Meher (17:32.91) was 38th for the Huskies, Justin Unislawski (18:37.16) was 60th, Christopher Fernandez (20:15.66) was 89th and Tyler Rulison (20:34.26) was 93rd.

Gabe Fernandez was Amsterdam’s top finisher, placing 49th with a time of 17:59.23. Brett Flint (18:07.48) was 55th for the Rams, David Graveley (20:13.92) was 86th and Jose Perez (20:14.42) was 87th.

Aaron Alvarez led Johnstown, placing 45th with a time of 17:55.19. Cameron Roten (18:10.05) was 56th for the Sir Bills and Daeshan Buseck (18:50.12) was 63rd.