Kollar leads nine local winners at Monster Energy Supercross

CAROGA LAKE – Fort Plain’s Zachery Kollar claimed victories in two divisions to lead a list of nine local winners on the final points night at Monster Energy Drink Supercross competition Wednesday at Royal Mountain Ski Center.

Kollar topped the field in the 122-250 Amateur and 122-Open Amateur divisions.

Mayfield’s Jordan Miller took top honors in the Mini Quad 51-90cc production class, while Johnstown’s Casey Battisti rode to victory in the 85cc 12- to 15-year-old division. Battisti also placed second in the Open Mini 10- to 16-year-old class.

Fonda’s Tyler Blowers topped the podium in the Mini 80cc 9- to 11-year-old division and placed third in the Open Mini 10- to 16-year-old class.

Daniel Ashcroft o Northville claimed victory in the 122-250 Novice division, while Brandon Handy topped the field in the Mini 60cc 7- to 11-year-old division and placed second in the Jr. Mini 9- to 11-year-old class.

Amsterdam’s Geoffrey Hoyt was first in the Quad Schoolboy 12- to 16-year-old division.

Katharine Hoyt of Amsterdam topped a list of local riders who swept the top five spots in the Quad Novice division. Aaron Crouse (Fort Plain), Mike Deuel (Broadalbin), Josh Deuel (Broadalbin) and Logan Beck (Fort Plain), respectively, followed Hoyt in the finish.

Gloversville’s John Berthiaume Jr. rounds out the local winners with his victory in the Plus 30 Expert division.

Also claiming victories Wednesday night were Scotia’s Eric Junquera (Quad Am), Cobleskill’s Ryan Daly (Open Mini 10-16), Davey Sterritt of Athens (122-Open Expert), Catskill’s Nicholas Schindler (122-Open Novice), Kenneth Deridder of Middle Grove (Jr. Mini 9-11), Queensbury’s Charlie Vrooman (Plus 30 Am), Whitesboro’s Mitch Dougherty (122-250 Expert), James O’Neil of East Berne (50cc PeeWee Junior 4-6), Scotia’s Chad Forstell (50cc PeeWee Senior 7-8).

Other local riders turning in strong performances were Gloversville’s Ronnie Christman (second, 50cc PeeWee Sr. 7-8), Johnstown’s Bennett Melita (third, 50cc PeeWee Sr. 7-8), Johnstown’s Jason Morrison Jr. (third, Mini Quad 51-90cc Production), Gloversville’s Schuyler Smith (fourth, 85cc 12-15), Johnstown’s Adryan Pelosi (third, 122-Open Am), Amsterdam’s Brandon Dumblewski (fourth, 122-Open Am), Caroga Lake’s Jack Mulyca (fifth, 122-open Novice), Johnstown’s Jesse Pechtel (fifth, Jr. Mini 9-11), Amsterdam’s Jeremy Tittemore (second, Plus 30 Am) and Gloversville’s Keith Orr (fourth, Plus 30 Am).

In the Quad Amateur division, Fred Hansen, Colby Watras and Jesse Angel, all from Broadalbin, placed third, fourth and fifth, respectively.

Monster Supercross results

Aug. 21, 2013

50cc PeeWee Jr. (4-6): 1. James O’Neil (E. Berne).

50cc PeeWee Sr. (7-8): 1. Chad Forstell (Scotia), 2. Ronnie Christman (Gloversville), 3. Bennett Melita (Johnstown), 4. Trevor Stempel (S. Berne).

Mini Quad 51-90cc production: 1. Jordan Miller (Mayfield), 2. Dalton Nichols (Caroga Lake), 3. Jason Morrison Jr. (Johnstown), 4. Mason St. John-Lemery (Queensbury).

85cc (12-15): 1. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 2. Reid Schindler (Catskill), 3. Nicholas Debernardis (Frankfort), 4. Schuyler Smith (Gloversville), 5. Megan Alikonis (Amsterdam).

Mini 80cc (9-11): 1. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 2. Kenneth Deridder (Middle Grove), 3. Scott Hughes (Edmeston).

122-250 Expert: 1. Mitch Dougherty (Whitesboro), 2. Joe Vitetta (E. Berna), 3. Brian Falzo (Johnsonville), 4. Sal Colangelo (Poughkeepsie), 5. Davey Sterritt (Athens).

122-250 Am: 1. Zachery Kollar (Fort Plain), 2. Michael Witson (Wappinger Falls), 3. Jacob Church (Greenville), 4. Ryan Rivette (Schenectady), 5. Derek Bornt (Poestenkill).

122-250 Novice: 1. Daniel Ashcroft (Northville), 2. Nicholas Schindler (Catskill), 3. Nick Huber (Catskill), 4. Kyle Brandow (Catskill), 5. Ryan Daly (Cobleskill).

Mini 60c (7-11): 1. Brandon Handy (Johnstown), 2. Kenneth Deridder (Middle Grove), 3. Chad Forstell (Scotia), 4. Jacob Slabe Mohawk), 5. Cole Vrooman (Queensbury).

Quad Am: 1. Eric Junquera (Scotia), 2. Zach Desimone (Moriah), 3. Fred Hansen (Broadalbin), 4. Colby Watras (Broadalbin), 5. Jesse Angel (Broadalbin).

Quad Novice: 1. Katharine Hoyt (Amsterdam), 2. Aaron Crouse (Fort Plain), 3. Mike Deuel (Broadalbin), 4. Josh Deuel (Broadalbin), 5. Logan Beck (Fort Plain).

Quad Schoolboy (12-16): 1. Geoffrey Hoyt (Amsterdam).

Open Mini (10-16): 1. Ryan Daly (Cobleskill), 2. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 3. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 4. Cole Hulbert (Medusa), 5. Nicholas Debernardis (Frankfort).

122-Open Expert: 1. Davey Sterritt (Athens), 2. Sam Schilde (Sharon Springs), 3. Kevin carcella (Ravena), 4. Cody Locci (E. Berne), 5. Kris St. Gelais (Schaghticoke).

122-Open Am: 1. Zackery Kollar (Fort Plain), 2. Frank Hempstead III (Westerlo), 3. Adryan Pelosi (Johnstown), 4. Brandon Dumblewski (Amsterdam), 5. Michael Witson (Wappinger Falls).

122-Open Novice: 1. Nicholas Schindler (Catskill), 2. Ryan Daly (Cobleskill), 3. Kyle Brandow (Catskill), 4. Dalen Vernazza (Stamford, CT), 5. Jack Mulyca (Caroga Lake).

Jr. Mini (9-11): 1. Kenneth Deridder (Middle Grove), 2. Brandon Handy (Johnstown), 3. Jacob Slabe (Mohawk), 4. Scott Hughes (Edmeston), 5. Jesse Pechtel (Johnstown).

Plus 30 Am: 1. Charlie Vrooman (Queensbury), 2. Jeremy Tittemore (Amsterdam), 3. Ernie Weir (Argyle), 4. Keith Orr (Gloversville), 5. Jake Kiefner (Rotterdam).

Plus 30 Expert: 1. John Berthiaume Jr. (Gloversville), 2. Matt Dwyer (Esperance), 3. Edward Nadeau (Saratoga Springs).