Royal Mountain hosts supercross event

CAROGA LAKE – Royal Mountain Ski Area hosted its annual Monster Energy Saturday Night Supercross event Saturday.

Amsterdam’s Brandi Hirschfeld was the lone area winner, picking up the victory in the quad schoolboy 12- to 16-year-old class

Two riders claimed two victories Saturday.

Catskill’s Nicholas Schindler won the 122-open novice and 122-250 novice classes, while Waterville’s Jeremy Edwards won the mini 60cc 7- to 11-year-old and junior mini 9- to 11-year-old classes.

Other winners included Scotia’s Chad Forstell (50cc pee wee senior 7-8), Locke’s Dawson Harriger (mini quad 50cc production), Queensbury’s Mason St. John-Lemery (mini quad 51-90cc production), Averill Park’s Dominic J. Carnibucci (open mini 10-16), East Berne’s Cody Locci (122-open expert), Ravena’s Kevin Scarcella (122-open amateur), Scotia’s Eric Junquera (quad amateur), Potsdam’s Joshua Flint (quad novice), Catskill’s Reid Schindler (85cc 12-15), Middle Grove’s Kenneth DeRidder (mini 80cc 9-11), Schaghticoke’s John St. Gelais (plus 30 amateur), Petersburg’s Scott Phelps (plus 30 expert), East Berne’s Joe Vitetta (122-250 expert) and Greenville’s Jacob Church (122-250 amateur).

Several area riders posted top-five finishes.

In the 50cc pee wee senior 7-and 8-year-old class, Johnstown’s Bennett Melita was third and Gloversville’s Ronnie Christman was fourth.

Johnstown’s Casey Battisti was second in the 85 cc 12- to 15-year-old class and fourth in the 122-250 novice class.

Caroga Lake’s Jacob Danyew was second in the 122-250 novice class. while Amsterdam’s Jeremy Tittemore was third in the plus 30 amateur class

In the mini quad 51-90cc production class, Amsterdam’s Matthew Hirschfeld was second, Johnstown’s Jason Morrison Jr. was third and Mayfield’s Jordan Miller was fourth.

Fonda’s Tyler Blowers was third in the open mini 10- to 16-year-old class and second in the mini 80cc 9- to 11-year-old class. Blowers also was fourth in the junior mini 9- to 11-year-old class.

In the 122-250 expert class, Gloversville’s Adam Handy was third and Fort Plain’s Brody Zelezny was fourth.

Johnstown’s Brandon Handy was third in the mini 60cc 7- to 11-year-old class and fifth in the junior mini 9- to 11-year-old class.

Caroga Lake’s Jack Mulyca was third in the 122-open novice class and third in the 122-250 novice class.

Fort Plain’s Zackery Kollar was second in both the 122-open amateur and 122-250 amateur classes.

Amsterdam’s Katharine Hoyt was second in the quad novice class.

Broadalbin’s Colby Watras was third in the quad amateur class, while Broadalbin’s Fred Hansen was fifth.

A field of 103 riders was in action Saturday.

Royal Mountain will be back in action today with its final Monster Energy motocross event of the season.

All riders must be signed in by 9 a.m. with practice starting at 8:30 a.m. Racing will start at 10 a.m.

Classes to be run range from 50cc 4-6 to the plus-40 class.

Royal Mountain’s supercross event will continue each Wednesday through Aug. 28.

All racing at Royal Mountain is sponsored by Monster Energy drinks and Bartyzel Distributors of Amsterdam.

For more information, call 835-6445 or visit the Royal Mountain website,

Monster Energy Supercross

at Royal Mountain Ski Area

50cc Pee Wee (Senior 7-8): 1. Chad Forstell (Scotia), 2. Nashton Altier (Rome), 3. Bennett Melita (Johnstown), 4. Ronnie Christman (Gloversville)

Mini Quad (50cc Production): 1. Dawson Harriger (Locke)

Mini Quad (51-90cc Production): 1. Mason St. John-Lemery (Queensbury), 2. Matthew Hirschfeld (Amsterdam), 3. Jason Morrison Jr. (Johnstown), 4. Jordan Miller (Mayfield)

Open Mini (10-16): 1. Dominic J. Carnibucci (Averill Park), 2. Cole Hulbert (Medusa), 3. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 4. Reid Schindler (Catskill), 5. Justin Akin (Schaghticoke)

Mini 60cc (7-11: 1. Jeremy Edwards (Waterville), 2. Tyrick Wheeler (Edmeston), 3. Brandon Handy (Johnstown), 4. Kenneth DeRidder (Middle Grove), 5. Chad Forstell (Scotia)

122-Open Novice: 1. Nicholas Schindler (Catskill), 2. Kyle Brandow (Catskill), 3. Jack Mulyca (Caroga Lake), 4. Pierson Keefe (Colonie)

122-Open Expert: 1. Cody Locci (East Berne), 2. Sam Schilde (Sharon Springs), 3. Kris St. Gelais (Schaghticoke)

122-Open Amateur: 1. Kevin Scarcella (Ravena), 2. Zackery Kollar (Fort Plain), 3. Frank Hempstead III (Westerlo), 4. Brandon Aldrich (Sauquoit), 5. Raymond Gordon (Schaghticoke)

Quad Amateur: 1. Eric Junquera (Scotia), 2. Trentyn Rosato (Locke), 3. Colby Watras (Broadalbin), 4. Zach DeSimone (Moriah), 5. Fred Hansen (Broadalbin)

Quad Novice: 1. Joshua Flint (Potsdam), 2. Katharine Hoyt (Amsterdam), 3. Cortney Grant (Moira)

Quad Schoolboy (12-16): 1. Brandi Hirschfeld (Amsterdam)

85cc (12-15): 1. Reid Schindler (Catskill), 2. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 3. Schuyler Smith (Gloversville), 4. Tanner Haran (Port Henry), 5. Zachary Hume (Burlington Flats)

Mini 80cc (9-11): 1. Kenneth DeRidder (Middle Grove), 2. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 3. Cayden Pope (Mohawk), 4. Hagen Lilley (Warrensburg), 5. Troy Miller (Warrensburg)

Plus 30 Amateur: 1. John St. Gelais (Schaghticoke), 2. Charlie Vrooman (Queensbury), 3. Jeremy Tittemore (Amsterdam), 4. Ernie Weir (Argyle), 5. Keith Orr (Gloversville)

Plus 30 Expert: 1. Scott Phelps (Petersburg), 2. Matt Dwyer (Esperance)

122-250 Expert: 1. Joe Vitetta (East Berne), 2. Brian Falzo (Johnsonville), 3. Adam Handy (Gloversville), 4. Brody Zelezny (Fort Plain)

122-250 Amateur: 1. Jacob Church (Greenville), 2. Zackery Kollar (Fort Plain), 3. Brandon Aldrich (Sauquoit), 4. Daniel Laing (Moriah), 5. Travis Whitbeck (Troy)

122-250 Novice: 1. Nicholas Schindler (Catskill), 2. Jacob Danyew (Caroga Lake), 3. Jack Mulyca (Caroga Lake), 4. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 5. Tyler Bigford (Sherburne)

Junior Mini (9-11): 1. Jeremy Edwards (Waterville), 2. Kenneth DeRidder (Middle Grove), 3. Tyrick Wheeler (Edmeston), 4. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 5. Brandon Handy (Johnstown)