Local riders post podium finishes at Royal

CAROGA LAKE -Tyler Blowers of Fonda picked up a pair of victories during Monster Energy Drink Supercross competition Wednesday night at Royal Mountain Ski Area.

Blowers picked up the wins in the mini 80cc 9- to 11-year-old division and the junior mini 9- to 11-year-old class.

In addition to Blowers, four other area riders picked up division wins Wednesday.

Caroga Lake’s Jack Mulyca won the 122-open novice division, while Broadalbin’s Andrew Hughes won the quad novice class and Amsterdam’s Geoffrey Hoyt was first in quad schoolboy for 12- to 16-year-olds. John Berthiaume Jr. picked up the win in the plus-30 expert division.

Other winners included Cobleskill’s Ryan Daly (open mini 10-16), Edmeston’s Tyrick Wheeler (mini 60cc 7-11), Scotia’s Chad Forstell (50cc pee wee 7-8), Sloansville’s Mark Molesky (85cc 12-15), Queensbury’s Mason St. John-Lemery (mini quad 51-90cc production), Whitesboro’s Mitch Dougherty (122 open expert), Ravena’s Kevin Scarcella )122 open amateur), Yarker, Ontario Canada’s Doug Draper (Plus 30 amateur), Scotia’s Eric Junquera (quad amateur), Gansevoort’s Ryan Blizzard (122-250 expert), Schaghticoke’s Evan Rosko (122-250 amateur) and Catskill’s Nick Huber (122-250 novice).

Several other local riders posted top five finishes on the night.

Mulyca also picked up a second palce finish in 122-250 novice, while Fort Plain’s Zack Kollar and Amsterdam’s Jesse Richarson were second and fifth respectively in the 122-250 amateur class.

Kollar also was runner-up in 122-open amateur competition, while Johnstown’s Adryan Pelosi was third in the class.

Johnstown’s Casey Battisti placed third in the 85cc 12- to-15-year-old division and was fifth in the open mini 10- to-16-year-old class.

Gloversville’s Ronnie Christman placed second in the 50cc pee wee senior division, while Johnstown’s Bennett Melita was third. Fonda’s John Fonda III was third in the mini 60cc 7- to-11-year-old competition.

In the mini quad 51-90cc production moto, Mayfield’s Jordan Miller placed second, while Caroga Lake’s Dalton Nichols was third, Johnstown’s Jason Morrison Jr. fourth and Fonda’s Skyler Olmstead fifth.

Amsterdam’s Jeremy Tittemore was third in the plus 30 amateur division, while Gloversville’s Keith Orr was fourth.

In quad amateur compeition, Broadalbin’s Fred Hansen and Colby Watras were fourth and fifth respectively. Amsterdam’s Katherine Hoyt placed third quad novice, while Broadalbin’s Kevin Ward was fourth.

A field of 147 riders took part in Wednesday’s supercross action.

Monster Energy Drink Supercross

Royal Mountain July 24, 2013

50cc Pee-Wee Sr. (7-8): 1. Chad Forstell (Scotia), 2. Ronnie Christman (Gloversville), 3. Bennett Melita (Johnstown), 4. Trevor Stempel (South Berne).

Mini Quad 51-90cc Prod: 1. Mason St. John-Lemery (Queensbury), 2. Jordan Miller (Mayfield), 3. Dalton Nichols (Caroga Lake), 4. Jason Morrison Jr. (Johnstown), 5. Skyler Olmstead (Fonda).

85cc 12-15: 1. Mark Molesky (Sloanesville), 2. Ryan Conte (Utica), 3. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 4. Brad Williams (Edmeston), 5. Reid Schindler (Catskill).

Mini 80cc (9-11): 1. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 2. Scott Hughes (Edmeston).

122-Open Expert: 1. Mitch Dougherty (Whitesboro), 2. Cody Locci (E. Berne), 3. Same Schilde (Sharon Springs), 4. Konnor Buffis (Pittsfield, Mass.), 5. Ryan Blizzard (Gansevoort).

122-Open Am: 1. Kevin Scarcella (Ravena), 2. Zackery Kollar (Fort Plain), 3. Adryan Pelosi (Johnstown), 4. Blake Matuszczak (Port Leyden), 5. Doug Draper (Yarker, Ont.).

122-Open Novice: 1. Jack Mulyca (Caroga Lake), 2. Nicholas Schindler (Catskill), 3. Ryan Daly (Cobleskill), 4. Kyle Brandow (Catskill), 5. Justin Mac Shane (Niskayuna).

Jr. Mini (9-11): 1. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 2. Tyrick Wheeler (Edmeston), 3. Kenneth Deridder (Middle Grove), 4. Jacob Slabe (Mohawk), 5. Scott Hughes (Edmeston).

Quad Am: 1. Eric Junquera (Scotia), 2. Zach Desimone (Moriah), 3. Fred Hansen (Broadalbin), 4. Colby Watras (Broadalbin), 5. Dalton Rowan (Herkimer).

Quad Novice: 1. Andrew Hughes (Broadalbin), 2. Jordan Collette (Valley Falls), 3. Katherarine Hoyt (Amsterdam), 4. Kevin Ward (Broadalbin), 5. Anthony Scolaro (Cobleskill).

Quad Schoolboy (12-16): 1. Geoffrey Hoyt (Amsterdam).

122-250 Novice: 1. Nick Huber (Catskill), 2. Jack Mulyca (Caroga Lake), 3. Justin Mac Shane (Niskayuna), 4. Nicholas Schindler (Catskill), 5. Austin Mitchison (N. Chatham).

122-250 Expert: 1. Ryan Blizzard (Gansevoort), 2. Konnor Buffis (Pittsfield, Mass.), 3. Brian Falzo (Johnsonville), 4. Derek Bornt (Poestenkill), 5. Jess Richardson (Amsterdam).

Open Mini (10-16): 1. Ryan Daly (Cobleskill), 2. Brad Williams (Edmeston), 3. Mark Molesky (Sloansville), 4. Cole Hulbert (Medusa), 5. Casey Battisti (Johnstown).

Mini 60cc (7-11): 1. Tyrick Wheeler (Edmeston), 2. Kenneth Deridder (Middle Grove), 3. John Fonda III (Fonda); 4. Chad Forstell (Scotia), 5. Cole Vrooman (Queensbury).

Plus 30 Am: 1. Doug Draper (Yarker, Ont.); 2. Charlie Vrooman (Queensbuiry), 3. Jeremy Tittemore (Amsterdam), 4. Deith Orr (Gloversville), 5. Chris Carr (Port Leyden).

Plus 30 Expert: 1. John Berthiaume Jr. (Gloversville).