Johnstown School board re-elects officers

JOHNSTOWN – The Greater Johnstown School District Board of Education has no problems with its current leadership.

In past years, there have been split votes with multiple candidates for board president and vice president, but the board was unanimous in its voting Monday night at Johnstown High School.

The board voted 9-0 in separate votes to re-elect board President Paul VanDenburgh and Vice President Jennifer Sponnoble.

“I’m very pleased; it feels very good to have that unification,” VanDenburgh said during a break in the board’s organizational meeting.

Both VanDenburgh and Sponnoble – who were re-elected to fresh three-year terms by district voters in May – took separate turns reading their oaths of office.

The board also welcomed new board member Kathy Dougherty, who took the oath of office. The recently retired Northville Central School District superintendent is a former Johnstown teacher and principal.

Superintendent Robert DeLilli also took the oath of office for the coming school year.

In other action by the board:

Various routine and annual administrative appointments for the 2013-14 school were made, such as: Larraina Carpenter as district clerk, Melissa Baker as district treasurer and chief accounting officer, Vanessa Wilder as school tax collector, Suzanne Hall as district claims auditor and Dr. Richard Solby as school physician.

Girvin & Ferlazzo was named the district’s legal counsel and The Leader-Herald was named the district’s official newspaper for the 2013-14 school year.

Receiving probationary appointments as elementary teachers were: Debra Ammann, at a base salary of $43,910 annually; and Kaitlin O’Keefe, at a base salary of $45,604 annually.

Fall coaching appointments included: Allissa LaPort, head cross country coach; Tracy Ringer, head field hockey coach; Matthew Benton, head football coach; Mark Ralbovsky, head golf coach; Michael Hill, head boys’ soccer coach; Colleen Froschauer, head girls’ soccer coach; Julianna Popp, head girls’ swimming coach; Heather McGuire, head volleyball coach; and Sherry Walker, fall cheerleading head coach.

Michael Anich can be reached by email at