Mayfield’s Husain named to all-state team

Mayfield’s Anna Husain was the area’s lone selection on the recently announced New York State Sportswriters Association all-state softball team.

Husain was selected as a fifth-team all-star in Class C.

Husain, a senior, also was named the Western Athletic Conference North Division co-Most Valuable Player.

A total of 27 Section II players earned all-state honors.

In Class AA, Cicero-North Syracuse’s Sydney O’Hara was named Player of the Year, while Brockport’s Christian Carr was named coach of the year.

Colonie’s Kelly Lane and Shenendehowa’s Erika Daigle were named third-team all-state in Class AA, while Colonie’s Kassidy Ogren was named to the fifth team. Averill Park’s Kelly Donnelly was named a seventh-team all-star.

Troy’s Hunter Levesque and South Glens Falls’ Sam Hubinsky were named second-team all-state in Class A, while Troy’s Alina Germinerio was named to the third team. Troy’s Ally Luscier and Queensbury’s Brooke Meader were named fifth-team all-stars.

Pittsford Mendon’s Courtney Case was named Class A Player of the Year, while Construction’s Marco Migliaccio and Hamburg’s Lisa Palma shared Coach of the Year honors.

In Class B, Chatham’s Kayla Doty was named a Player of the Year and a first-team all-star.

Tamarac’s Brianna Matazinsky and Chatham’s Karlee Shields were named second-team all-state, while Chatham’s Michaela Smith was named to the third team

Also named to the all-state team in Class B were Taconic Hills’ Hannah Sears (fourth team) and Tamarac’s Nicole Matthews (fifth team).

Windsor’s Bill Waldron was named the Class B Coach of the Year.

In Class C, Greenwich’s Sarah Heimbach and Mechanicville’s Alison Ford were named to the first team.

Hoosic Valley’s Cassidy Chapko was named to the second team, while Greenwich’s Carolin Strasswimmer, Mechanicville Kylie Liberty and Duanesburg’s Stephanie Rice were named to the third team.

Elmira Notre Dame’s Olivia May was named Player of the Year, while Frewsburg’s Jon Blanchard was named Coach of the Year.

State and Section II Class D champion Fort Ann had Kayla Bancroft named Player of the Year, while Fort Ann coach Tim Gleason was named Coach of the Year.

Bancroft also earned first-team honors along with teammates Kaleigh Foran and Molly Bailey.

Also named all-state in Class D were Germantown’s Angela Fix and Loudonville Christian’s Ange Stephano.

2013 New York State Sportswriters Association

All-State Softball Team

Section II Selections

Class AA

Third Team

Kelly Lane (Colonie), Erika Daigle (Shenendehowa)

Fifth Team

Kassidy Ogren (Colonie)

Seventh Team

Kelly Donnelly (Averill Park)

Class A

Second Team

Hunter Levesque (Troy), Sam Hubinsky (South Glens Falls)

Third Team

Alina Germinerio (Troy)

Fifth Team

Ally Luscier (Troy), Brooke Meader (Queensbury)

Class B

Player of the Year: Kayla Doty (Chatham)

First Team

Kayla Doty (Chatham)

Second Team

Brianna Matazinsky (Tamarac), Karlee Shields (Chatham)

Third Team

Michaela Smith (Chatham)

Fourth Team

Hannah Sears (Taconic Hills)

Fifth Team

Nicole Matthews (Tamarac)

Class C

First Team

Sarah Heimbach (Greenwich), Alison Ford (Mechanicville)

Second Team

Cassidy Chapko (Hoosic Valley)

Third Team

Carolin Strasswimmer (Greenwich), Kylie Liberty (Mechanicville), Stephanie Rice (Duanesburg)

Fifth Team

Anna Husain (Mayfield)

Class D

Player of the Year: Kayla Bancroft (Fort Ann)

Coach of the Year: Tim Gleason (Fort Ann)

First Team

Kayla Bancroft (Fort Ann), Kaleigh Foran (Fort Ann), Molly Bailey (Fort Ann)

Third Team

Angela Fix (Germantown)

Fourth Team

Ange Stephano (Loudonville Christian)